March 10, 2005 - by
Hodges Selected To WBCA All-Star Challenge

March 10, 2005

The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) has selected its all-star line-up for the 2005 WBCA All-Star Challenge Game and Florida State’s Roneeka Hodges is among those on the list. On Saturday, April 2, the top 20 senior collegiate players in women’s basketball will showcase their talents at the University of Indianapolis’ Nicoson Hall.

This capstone event tips-off the 24th Annual WBCA National Convention, which takes place in Indianapolis, at the site of this year’s NCAA Women’s Final Four®. The WBCA All-Star Challenge game will be the second of a doubleheader event featured during the “WBCA Night of All-Stars.” Fans will have an opportunity to watch and collect autographs from the future WNBA stars, as well as see the WBCA High School All-America Game, presented by Nike, which tips-off at 4:30 p.m. (Indianapolis Time).

The WBCA All-Star Challenge features 17 of the top senior NCAA Division I players, voted on by Division I WBCA-member head coaches. The remaining three players are the top senior vote getters in the State Farm/WBCA Player of the Year ballots. They are selected from the NCAA Division II, III and NAIA levels. Those names will be released at a later date.

Joining Hodges on the 2005 roster are Penn State’s Jess Strom and Tanisha Wright, Texas’ Jamie Carey and Heather Schreiber, Tennessee’s Loree Moore and Shyra Ely, LSU’s Temeka Johnson, Oklahoma’s Dionnah Jackson, Notre Dame’s Jacqueline Batteast, Tan White of Mississippi State, Sandora Irvin of Texas Christian, Caity Matter of Ohio State, Kansas State’s Kendra Wecker, Janel McCarville of Minnesota, Steffanie Blackmon of Baylor, and Jessica Moore from the University of Connecticut.

The WBCA All-Star Challenge roster may alter if any of the aforementioned players’ teams are participating in the NCAA Women’s Final Four®. In that case, alternates will be selected based on voting results.

“The WBCA All-Star Challenge has become one of the most anticipated events surrounding our national convention and the NCAA Final Four,” said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. “This year’s event is no exception; the Class of 2005 will be represented very well in this year’s game.”Past stars of the WBCA All-Star Challenge include: Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury); Alana Beard (Washington Mystics); Cheryl Ford (Detroit Shock); Chantelle Anderson (Sacramento Monarchs); Semeka Randall (San Antonio Silver Stars); Marie Ferdinand (San Antonio Silver Stars); Chamique Holdsclaw (Washington Mystics); Ticha Penicherio (Sacramento Monarchs); Kelly Miller (Indiana Fever); Coco Miller, Murriel Page (Washington Mystics), and many more stars of the WNBA.

Fans can order tickets by calling the University of Indianapolis’ Athletic Department Office at (317) 788-3359, TicketWeb at 800-965-4827 or visit Tickets for the “WBCA Night of All-Stars” start at $15.00 and $25.00 for reserved seating.

Founded in 1981, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association promotes women’s basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport of women’s basketball and to foster and promote the development of the game of basketball as an amateur sport for women and girls.

For more information on the WBCA, please visit

2005 WBCA All-Star Challenge Team
Name Pos. School
Jackie Batteast G Notre Dame
Steffanie Blackmon F Baylor
Jamie Carey PG Texas
Shyra Ely F Tennessee
Roneeka Hodges G Florida State
Sandora Irvin F TCU
Dionnah Jackson PG Oklahoma
Temeka Johnson PG LSU
Caity Matter G Ohio State
Janel McCarville F Minnesota
Jessica Moore F UCONN
Loree Moore PG Tennessee
Heather Schreiber G Texas
Jess Strom PG Penn State
Kendra Wecker F Kansas State
Tan White G Mississippi State
Tanisha Wright G Penn State
Related Articles