December 25, 2005 - by
Honors Keep Rolling In For Krikorian And FSU Soccer Players

Dec. 25, 2005

Tallahassee, FL – It is a clean sweep for FSU women’s soccer head coach Mark Krikorian. In his first year on the job in Tallahassee, Krikorian has now taken home both major national honors for coach of the year. The Seminole boss has already been named ACC Coach of the Year and Soccer America National Coach of the Year. Now he has won two honors no Seminole soccer coach has ever won. Krikorian has been named the National Soccer Coaches Association of America’s (NCSAA) South Region Coach of the Year and Soccer Buzz’s National Coach of the Year.

Krikorian wasn’t the only Seminole honored. Overall, FSU players picked up twelve national or regional honors this passed week. Viola Odebrecht became just the second first team All-American in school history when she one of a record three Seminoles to pick up All-America honors from Soccer Buzz. US Women’s National Team pool player India Trotter collected another second team All-America honor and Sel Kuralay was named a Buzz third team All-American.

Coming into the season, Florida State had produced five Soccer Buzz All-Americans in the previous 10 years. This season three Seminoles were awarded All-American honors. Odebrecht joined former Seminole Leah Gallegos as the only Seminoles to ever be named first team All-Americans by any organization.

Two FSU rookies picked up freshman All-America awards from the Internet magazine. Sarah Wagenfuhr was named to the first team while Katrin Schmidt was named a second team selection. Wagenfuhr also picked up freshman All-America honors from Soccer America magazine.

Florida State dominated the Soccer Buzz regional awards. Not only was Krikorian named Southeast region coach of the year but seven of FSU’s 11 starters were named to one of the four all-region teams. The Seminoles’ three All-Americans led the way as Odebrecht, Trotter and Kuralay were all named first team. Wagenfuhr was a second team all-region selection while Kelly Rowland and Schmidt were named to the third team. Mami Yamaguchi was also recognized with an honorable mention selection.

Related Articles