November 23, 2010 - by
Hudson’s A Finalist

Nov. 23, 2010

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Senior right guard Rodney Hudson has been named one of three finalists for the 2010 Outland Trophy, which is awarded to the best interior lineman in college football by the Football Writers’ Association of America. Hudson is joined by Wisconsin offensive tackle Gabe Carimi and Colorado offensive tackle Nate Solder.

The winner of the Outland Trophy will be announced on the evening of Dec. 9 during “The Home Depot College Football Awards Show” at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. The show, hosted by Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard, airs from 7-9 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Hudson, a 6-2, 282-pound senior from Mobile, Ala., has a chance to be in a select group of Atlantic Coast Conference players. If named All-ACC for the fourth straight season, he will become the seventh player in ACC history to be so named. He has played all three positions on the offensive line – center, guard and tackle – during his career. Hudson, the 2009 Jacobs Blocking Award given to the Atlantic Coast Conference’s most outstanding blocker, has started all 11 games for the Seminoles in 2010. He now has 45 career starts under belt. Through 11 games this season, he has graded out at 87 percent while picking up 40 knockdown blocks. In his last 709 snaps, he has only been penalized once and has had only four missed assignments. He has been the ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week twice this season. Hudson has been one of the main reasons Florida State has been able to run the ball effectively on its way to an 8-3 record.

The Outland Trophy, which has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946, is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. The Outland Trophy is the third-oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award.

The official 2010 award presentation will be Jan. 13, 2011, in Omaha, Neb., at a banquet sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee. That group will present an Outland Trophy to a yet-to-be-named former winner at the banquet.

Related Articles