May 22, 2000 - by
ITA Announces National Award Winners For NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis

May 22, 2000

MALIBU, Calif. — The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA)
announced on Sunday eveing the national award winners for women’s tennis.
Florida State senior Kia Asberg was honored as the ITA’s Cissie Leary
Sportsmanship Award winner. The annual award is presented to an individual
who displays inspiring commitment and dedication to her team, which has
enhanced her team’s performance and exemplified the spirit of college

Asberg was named All-ACC for the second consecutive year leading
the Lady Seminoles in wins with 29. The senior from Lysekil, Sweden had a
13-match winning streak from the beginning of February to the end of March
and defeated the country’s 48th-ranked player from Florida to start the

Off the court, Asberg is a two-time All-ACC Academic selection and
has been on the FSU Dean’s List seven times. Majoring in psychology,
Asberg was a recipient of one of the the ACC’s 2000 Weaver-James-Corrigan
Post-Graduate Scholarships and is a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory
Committee at Florida State University. Asberg is also a member of the
Psychology Honor Society, Psi-Chi.

The rest of the national winners included San Diego’s Zuzana
Lesenarova, who was named the ITA’s National Senior Player of the Year,
Wake Forest’s Adria Engel, who was named the ITA’s National Rookie of the
Year, UCLA’s Sara Walker, who was named the ITA’s National Player to Watch,
UCLA’s Rance Brown, who was named the ITA’s National Assistant Coach of the
Year, and Georgia’s Jeff Wallace, who was named the ITA’s National Coach of
the Year.

Related Articles