August 14, 2014 - by
Jameis Winston Named to Manning Award Preseason Watch List

NEW ORLEANS – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, published its complete preseason Watch List on Thursday. The list includes 32 of the top quarterbacks in the nation heading into the 2014 season. The winner will again be selected by a voting panel, which includes national media and each of the Mannings, after the bowls.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting. 

“This is always a great time of year with college football ramping up once again,” said Archie Manning. “We have a very strong group of 32 quarterbacks on our Watch List this year and we’ve seen them all in action, but every year there are new guys who jump right in and become stars. That’s what makes college football such a wonderful sport – you never know what might happen once the teams get out on the field.”

Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. The list of 10 finalists will be released on Wednesday, Nov. 26. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 14.

This year’s Watch List includes players from all 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences. The Pac-12 leads the way with seven selections, followed by the Big Ten with five and the Big 12 with four. There are 18 seniors on the list while the junior class is represented by 10 quarterbacks. Rounding out the 32 are four sophomores, including Florida State’s Jameis Winston, who will look to be the first repeat winner of the honor. In addition to Winston, Oregon senior Marcus Mariota and Baylor senior Bryce Petty are returning finalists.

Jameis Winston

2014-15 Manning Award Watch List

Anthony Boone              Duke

Terrance Broadway       ULL

Shane Carden                  East Carolina 

Rakeem Cato                   Marshall     

Connor Cook                    Michigan State

Cody Fajardo                   Nevada          

Devin Gardner                Michigan       

Garrett Grayson             Colorado State         

Connor Halliday              Washington State    

Taylor Heinicke               Old Dominion       

Taysom Hill                       BYU                      

Kevin Hogan                     Stanford                      

Brett Hundley                  UCLA                  

Matt Johnson                  Bowling Green       

Chuckie Keeton              Utah State       

Taylor Kelly                       Arizona State         

Cody Kessler                    USC                         

Trevor Knight                   Oklahoma         

Sean Mannion                 Oregon State          

Marcus Mariota              Oregon              

Nick Marshall                   Auburn                    

Braxton Miller                 Ohio State              

Bryce Petty                       Baylor                      

Dak Prescott                    Mississippi State      

Keenan Reynolds           Navy                         

Jake Rudock                     Iowa                         

Nate Sudfeld                   Indiana                 

P.J. Walker                        Temple                    

Bo Wallace                        Ole Miss                   

Jake Waters                     Kansas State        

Davis Webb                      Texas Tech                 

Jameis Winston              Florida State         

“We have had the opportunity to recognize 10 outstanding quarterbacks with the Manning Award,” said Paul Hoolahan, Allstate Sugar Bowl CEO. “It is truly a great honor for the Allstate Sugar Bowl to sponsor this award and we wish the best of luck to every quarterback and team in the country for another great year of college football.”

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.

Related Articles