May 6, 2010 - by
JD Drew Named A CWS Legend

May 6, 2010

The 28 members of the Legends Team, pared down from an original list of 95 nominees, were selected after more than 100,000 votes were cast by college baseball fans, college baseball writers and Division I head baseball coaches. The members of the Legends Team are former student-athletes and coaches who had the best CWS performances throughout the 60 years the event has been played at Rosenblatt Stadium.

Florida State’s J.D. Drew was selected to the team after leading the Seminoles to the College World Series in back-to-back seasons in 1995 and 1996. Drew is one of three former student-athletes from the Atlantic Coast Conference to make the team (North Carolina’s Dustin Ackley and Georgia Tech’s Nomar Garciaparra).

Voting for the team was based solely on the former student-athletes’ performance when they were competing in the NCAA College World Series, and not for any regular season or post-collegiate performances.

Will Clark was the leading vote getter with more than 3,000 votes. Dave Winfield was the second leading vote getter with just under 3,000 votes.

The 28 CWS Legends Team members will be invited to attend the final College World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium as guests of the NCAA. The members will be formally honored on-field during the CWS Opening Ceremonies on June 18, and invited to attend the first day of CWS competition on June 19. Mock baseball cards of each member featuring their collegiate photos will be posted on

A committee of select individuals from the National Baseball Writers Association, the Omaha World-Herald and NCAA staff was created to compose the original list of 95 nominees. This list included every former student-athlete who was voted onto a previous CWS anniversary team (25th, 50th and all-decade teams), as well as individuals who played in CWS in the last 14 years.

The utility players were determined by the oversight committee after the fan voting was completed. They represent those student-athletes who deserved recognition but did not garner enough votes at a particular position.

Tickets for the 2010 NCAA Men’s College World Series can be purchased by calling or logging on to For more information on the Legends Team and the 2010 Men’s College World Series, log on

The 28 member team by name, school, position and year are:
Will Clark, Mississippi State University, 1B, 1985
Dustin Ackley, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1B, 2007-09
Bob Horner, Arizona State University, 2B, 1976-78
Todd Walker, Louisiana State University, 2B, 1993-94
Spike Owen, University of Texas at Austin, SS, 1981-82
Nomar Garciaparra, Georgia Institute of Technology, SS, 1994
*Darwin Barney, Oregon State University, SS, 2005-07
Sal Bando, Arizona State University, 3B, 1964-65
Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State University, 3B, 1986-87
*Pat Burrell, University of Miami (Florida), 3B, 1996-98
Fred Lynn, University of Southern California, OF, 1971-73
Dave Winfield, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, OF, 1973
Terry Francona, University of Arizona, OF, 1979-80
Barry Bonds, Arizona State University, OF, 1983-84
Mark Kotsay, California State University, Fullerton, OF, 1994-95
J.D. Drew, Florida State University, OF, 1995-96
Steve Arlin, The Ohio State University, P, 1965-66
Burt Hooton, University of Texas at Austin, P, 1969-70
*Eddie Bane, Arizona State University, P, 1972-73
Huston Street, University of Texas at Austin, P, 2002-04
Jason Windsor, California State University, Fullerton, P, 2004
Landon Powell, University of South Carolina, Columbia, C, 2002-2004
Ryan Garko, Stanford University, C, 2001-03
Pete Incaviglia, Oklahoma State University, DH, 1983-85
Brooks Kieschnick, University of Texas at Austin, DH, 1992-93
Skip Bertman, Louisiana State University, Coach, 1986-87, 89-91, 93-94, 96-98, 2000
Rod Dedeaux, University of Southern California, Coach, 1951, 55, 58, 60-61, 63-64, 66, 68, 70-74, 78
Augie Garrido, California State University, Fullerton/University of Texas at Austin, Coach, 1975, 79, 82, 84, 92, 94-95 / 2000, 02-05, 09

Related Articles