July 13, 2006 - by
Johnson Named USTFCCCA Male Scholar Athlete of the Year, Women’s Team Cited For Academic Achievement

July 13, 2006

Tallahassee, Fla. – The Florida State track and field team had 12 student-athletes listed on the United States Track and Field/Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic Team, announced today (July13) by the association of college track and field coaches.

Johnson, the NCAA indoor and outdoor shot-put champion for Florida State, is the 2006 Division I Male Scholar Athlete of the Year for the outdoor season. The Rhodes Scholar selection had a 3.71 cumulative grade-point average and helped Florida State win its first national track title by winning the shot put and finishing fifth in the discus at the NCAA Track and Field Championships.

Johnson was enrolled in the public administration program for graduate studies but is foregoing his final year to study at Oxford. In 2005, just his third year at FSU, he completed his undergraduate requirements with a double major in political science and English.

Joining Johnson on team are All-Americans Andrew Lemoncello (St. Andrews, Scotland/Stirling University) and Tom Lancashire (Bolton, England/Turton) and NCAA East Region qualifiers Andrew Diakos (Naples, Fla./Barron Collier), Javier Garcia-Tunon (Miami, Fla./Belen Jesuit) and Matt Hurley (Tallahassee, Fla./Chiles).

The women’s team earned the honor as one of 76 programs listed on the USTFCCCA Academic Team list. Six Garnet and Gold team members earned a spot on the roster that highlights the top athletic and academic performers in the nation. All-American LaKendra McColumn (Lithonia, Ga./Southwest Dekalb), junior Abbie Wilshire (Bristol, England/Birmingham University), senior Alycia Williams (Palm Coast, Fla./George Mason University), sophomore Kandia Batchelor (Hillsborough, Fla./Hillsborough) join national champion Lacy Janson (Sarasota, Fla./Cardinal Mooney) on the roster.

The USTFCCCA honors individuals and teams for their academic and athletic accomplishments during the indoor and outdoor track seasons. The selection of the outstanding teams was based on a combination of athletic and academic achievement. For the complete listing of student-athletes honored around the country, please visit ustfccca.com.

2006 USTFCCCA All-Academic Men’s Team

Andrew Diakos, Florida State University
Andrew Lemoncello, Florida State University
Garrett Johnson, Florida State University
Javier Garcia-Tunon, Florida State University
Matt Hurley, Florida State University
Tom Lancashire, Florida State University

2006 USTFCCCA All-Academic Women’s Team

Abigail Wilshire, Florida State University
Alycia Williams, Florida State University
Kandia Batchelor, Florida State University
Lacy Janson, Florida State University
LaKendra McColumn, Florida State University
Lydia Willemse, Florida State University

Related Articles