June 26, 2012 - by
Johnson, Travis Honored On CWS Team

June 26, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – After leading Florida State to its best run at the College World Series since 2000, Sherman Johnson and Devon Travis were recognized for their efforts earning a spot on the 2012 CWS All-Tournament Team.

The Seminole duo combined to hit .485 with 16 hits, five doubles, two home runs, seven RBI and eight walks out in Omaha. Both started all four games and played flawless defense at their respective positions.

Travis finished the 2012 College World Series as the leading hitter with a .563 (9-for-16) average. The junior second baseman became the first player to record four consecutive multi-hit games to open a CWS since Stanford’s John Gall performed the feat in 1999. Travis collected two hits against UCLA and had a pair of two-hit games against Arizona. He had a perfect day at the plate against Stony Brook going 3-for-3 with two walks as he was a triple shy of hitting for the cycle. The Wellington, Fla., native finished the CWS with two doubles, a home run, four runs scored, four RBI and four walks. He also converted on all 18 fielding chances at second base.

Johnson hit .412 in Omaha going 7-for-17 at the plate in four games. Four of his seven hits went for extra bases as the senior third baseman registered three doubles and a home run. Johnson’s name will forever be part of CWS history as one of two players to hit a home run during the College World Series at both Rosenblatt Stadium and TD Ameritrade Park. The Tampa, Fla., native collected a hit in all four games of the 2012 CWS while recording multiple hits in his last three games. He drew four walks to wrap-up the season tied for the national lead in base-on-balls. Johnson finished the CWS with five runs and three RBI, while converting on all nine fielding opportunities at third base.

Travis and Johnson played a key role in leading Florida State to a 50-win season for the 24th time in school history.

2012 CWS All-Tournament Team
C – Riley Moore, Arizona
1B – Christian Walker, South Carolina
2B – Devon Travis, Florida State
3B – Sherman Johnson, Florida State
SS – Alex Mejia, Arizona
OF – Evan Marzilli, South Carolina
OF – Joey Rickard, Arizona
OF – Robert Refsnyder, Arizona
DH – Bobby Brown, Arizona
P – Michael Roth, South Carolina
P – Konner Wade, Arizona

Most Outstanding Player
Robert Refsnyder, Arizona


Related Articles