December 3, 2013 - by
Kallman Named Semifinalist for MAC Hermann Trophy

Dec. 3, 2013

KANSAS CITY, Kan. – Florida State’s Kassey Kallman was recognized on Tuesday by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) as one of 15 semifinalists for the Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer and is presented annually during a January banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. The recipients are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the NSCAA.

NCAA Division I coaches who are NSCAA members may vote for their top choices starting Wednesday, December 4 through Tuesday, December 10. Soccer fans can also let their collective voice be heard by voting for their favorite player on the MAC’s website hosted by LockerDome, starting Thursday, December 5.

Fans are encouraged to go online and vote for Kallman beginning Thursday, December 5 until midnight on Tuesday, December 10. Vote online here.

The top three vote-getters for each gender from the combined NSCAA coaches and weighted fan votes will be announced as finalists Thursday, December 12, followed by the announcement of the winners at the banquet on Friday, January 10, 2014.

A three-time all-conference honoree, Kallman was named to the All-ACC first team for the second year in a row in 2013. She has started all 26 games and has played a key role in leading Florida State to its second ACC title in three years along with advancing to the College Cup for the third consecutive year.

The senior defender is part of the Seminole backline that ranks in the top 20 nationally in goals against average (7th – .482) and shutout percentage (17th – 0.577). She has also helped FSU post 15 shutouts including five during the postseason when combining both ACC Tournament (2 games) and NCAA Tournament (3 games) matches. The Seminoles have allowed just 13 goals this season – two fewer than the school-record set on two prior occasions (2008 & 2012).

Kallman has tallied 92 career starts in four seasons at Florida State with 27 points on 10 goals and seven assists. She has been a fixture in the Seminole backline since 2010 and has helped Florida State to three straight College Cup appearances (2011, 2012 & 2013), two ACC titles (2011 & 2013) and a conference regular season championship in 2012.

In 2013, Kallman has been named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, garnered Most Valuable Player honors at the ACC Tournament and earned a spot on the ACC All-Tournament team. She is also a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award which will be awarded during this week’s College Cup in Cary.

Kallman, who is majoring in business management, made school history early this year becoming the program’s first two-time Academic All-American when CoSIDA named the Woodbury, Minn., native a Capital One second team honoree for the second year in a row.

Kallman has been named to the ACC All-Academic Team in each of her first three seasons at Florida State and is a two-time member of the ACC Academic Honor Roll. She has also been named to FSU’s President’s List twice and made Dean’s List honors on two separate occasions.

Kallman becomes just the third Seminole defender in school history to be recognized as a semifinalist for the Hermann Trophy joining the likes of Becky Edwards (2009) and Ines Jaurena (2012).

In 2007, Mami Yamaguchi became the first Seminole player to claim the top individual honor in women’s soccer. She won the Hermann Trophy after leading the country in points (66) and finishing second in goals (24) and assists (18). Yamaguchi played a major role in Florida State’s run to the 2007 National Championship game. The Tokyo, Japan native also made school history becoming the first FSU player to be named a finalist for the Hermann Trophy.

2013 MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist
Sabrina D’Angelo, GK, Jr., South Carolina
Abby Dahlkemper, D, Jr., UCLA
Amanda Frisbie, D, Sr., Portland
Kassey Kallman, D, Sr., Florida State
Emily Menges, D, Sr., Georgetown
Morgan Brian, MF, Jr., Virginia
Crystal Dunn, MF, Sr., North Carolina
Julie Johnston, MF, Sr., Santa Clara
Makenzy Doniak, F, So., Virginia
Nkem Ezurike, F, Sr., Michigan
Kristen Hamilton, F, Sr., Denver
Maya Hayes, F, Sr., Penn State
Jazmine Reeves, F, Sr., Virginia Tech
Frances Silva, F, Sr., West Virginia
Rafaelle Souza, F, Sr., Mississippi


Related Articles