February 29, 2000 - by
Kia Asberg Awarded Weaver-James-Corrigan Post-Graduate Scholarship

Feb. 29, 2000

GREENSBORO, N.C. – On Tuesday, ACC Commissioner John Swofford
announced the 16 Atlantic Coast Conference scholar-athletes who have been
named recipients of the 2000 Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Awards.
Florida State women’s tennis player Kia Asberg was one of the
scholar-athletes who was selected for this prestigious scholarship.

The scholarships are given to selected student-athletes who have
intentions of continuing academic work as full-time graduate students.
Each recipient will receive
$5,000 to use towards their graduate education. Each student-athlete has
performed with distinction both in the classroom and in their respective
sports, and demonstrated exemplary conduct in the community.

Asberg was named to the All-ACC team following the 1998-99 season
after winning the second most matches in school history with 30. Asberg
also set the school’s consecutive match win streak record with 15 straight
wins in 1999. Asberg was named co-MVP of the Lady Seminole squad last year
and was a member of the ACC Academic Honor Roll and for the third
consecutive year she was named to the Dean’s List.

The awards are named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James
as well as Gene Corrigan, past ACC commissioners. The league’s first
commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954 to 1970
after serving as the director of athletics at Wake Forest University. His
early leadership and uncompromising integrity is largely responsible for
the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Bob James, a former University of Maryland football player, was
named commissioner in 1971 and served for 16 years. During his tenure, the
league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national
leader in academics and athletics, winning 23 national championships while
maintaining excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time
commissioner on September 1, 1987 and served until August of 1997. During
Corrigan’s tenure ACC schools have captured 30 NCAA national championships
and two national football titles. In the fall of 1990, Corrigan engineered
the successful addition of the league’s newest member, Florida State

The following is a complete list of the Weaver-James-Corrigan
scholars: Clemson – Alison Coday (volleyball), Beth Keller (women’s
soccer), Duke -Sims Lenhardt (football), Florida State – Kia Asberg
(women’s tennis), Georgia Tech – Tamarra Jenkin (women’s tennis), Carolyn
Clevenger (volleyball), Maryland – Beth Murphy (volleyball), Larry Long
(baseball), North Carolina – Jennifer Strasburger (swimming & diving), NC
State –
Meredith Faircloth (cross country/track & field), Chan Pons
(crosscountry/track & field), Jason Smith (baseball), Virginia – Michelle
Vizzuso (field hockey), Austin Ramirez (swimming), Wake Forest – Stephan
Pro (track), Matt Burdick (football).

The 16 students will be honored Tuesday, April 11, 2000, in Greensboro,
N.C. at a luncheon hosted by the Nat Greene Kiwanis.

Related Articles