February 15, 2016 - by
Kinney, Warmoth Named to NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) released its 2016 Stopper of the Year Watch List on Monday which included Florida State relief pitchers Matthew Kinney and Tyler Warmoth.

Both Kinney and Warmoth, who transferred for their final year of eligibility from Belmont and Stetson, respectively, are redshirt seniors for the Seminoles.

In his final season at Belmont, Kinney finished with 62 strikeouts and a 1.80 ERA. He posted six saves in 55 innings on the mound, allowing 11 earned runs and 16 walks.

Warmoth converted nine saves in 38.2 innings while with the Hatters in 2015. In 38.2 innings, the right hander made 40 strikeouts and surrendered 14 earned runs and 14 walks.

The Atlantic Coast Conference led the way with 10 players on this year’s Watch List, while the Big Ten and Pacific-12 each had eight honorees and the Southeastern Conferences had seven. The Big South, Colonial and Sun Belt each had four and a total of 18 different conferences were represented.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The 2016 Stopper of the Year Watch List will be updated with a midseason release on Wednesday, April 27, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 8, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional competition.

The NCBWA’s All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year’s recipient to be announced at the 2016 College World Series.

The 2016 season begins on Friday, Feb. 19 when the Seminoles host Rhode Island for the first of a three-game set that is slated to begin at 4 p.m.

Seminole fans can always stay up-to-date with the Florida State Baseball team by following the official twitter page of the Seminoles (@FSUBaseball).

The following is a complete listing of the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List.

Kinney, Warmoth Named to NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List
Jack AndersonPenn StateSr.Big Ten
Adam AtkinsLouisiana TechSr.Conference USA
Brad BassNotre DameSo.Atlantic Coast
Nick BlackburnIllinoisSr.Big Ten
Nolan BlackwoodMemphisJr.The American
Tim BorstFresno StateSr.Mountain West
Ben BowdenVanderbiltJr.Southeastern
Daniel BridgemanRadfordSr.Big South
Chris BrownGeorgia SouthernSr.Sun Belt
Zack BurdiLouisvilleJr.Atlantic Coast
Thomas BurrowsAlabamaJr.Southeastern
Kyano CummingsSienaSr.Metro Atlantic Athletic
Tommy DeJuneasNC StateSo.Atlantic Coast
Justin DunnBoston CollegeJr.Atlantic Coast
Mark EckerTexas A&MJr.Southeastern
Taylor EdensVMISr.Southern
David EllingsonGeorgetownJr.Big East
Mike FitzgeraldNortheasternR-Jr.Colonial
Tucker ForbesUCLAR-Jr.Pacific-12
Robert GalliganMarylandSr.Big Ten
Bryan GarciaMiami (FL)Jr.Atlantic Coast
David GerberCreightonJr.Big East
Jared GesellUNC WilmingtonSr.Colonial
Joe GoodmanHigh PointR-Sr.Big South
Devin GouldLongwoodJr.Big South
Sean GuentherNotre DameSo.Atlantic Coast
Thomas HackimerSt. John’sSr.Big East
Ryan HendrixTexas A&MJr.Southeastern
Cole HallumCampbellSr.Big South
Ian HamiltonWashington StateJr.Pacific-12
John HayesWichita StateSr.Missouri Valley
Mitch HickeyOregon StateSo.Pacific-12
Chad HockinCal State FullertonJr.Big West
Marc HubermanUSCSr.Pacific-12
Joe IngleEast CarolinaSo.The American
Zach JacksonArkansasJr.Southeastern
Jordan JessMinnesotaR-Sr.Big Ten
Spencer JonesWashingtonSr.Pacific-12
Jake KelzerIndianaR-Jr.Big Ten
Matthew KinneyFlorida StateR-Sr.Atlantic Coast
Collin KoberMcNeese StateJr.Southland
Sterling KoernerFGCUJr.Atlantic Sun
Thomas LoweryUABJr.Conference USA
Carter LoveCollege of CharlestonSo.Colonial
Erik MartinezCaliforniaSo.Pacific-12
Aaron McGarityVirginia TechJr.Atlantic Coast
Evan McMahanNevadaJr.Mountain West
Joe MockbeeMichigan StateJr.Big Ten
Dylan MooreLouisianaSo.Sun Belt
Eddie MuhlGeorge WashingtonJr.Atlantic 10
Stephen NogosekOregonJr.Pacific-12
Corbin OlmsteadUNFSr.Atlantic Sun
Conner O’NeilCSUNJr.Big West
Glenn OttoRiceSo.Conference USA
Ty ProvencherLong Beach StateR-Sr.Big West
Troy RallingsWashingtonSr.Pacific-12
Patrick RuotoloUConnJr.The American
Zac RyanGeorgia TechJr.Atlantic Coast
Ryan SelmerMarylandSo.Big Ten
Wyatt ShortOle MissJr.Southeastern
Jesse StallingsLSUSo.Southeastern
Will StillmanWoffordSr.Southern
Jake StolleyNorthwesternSr.Colonial
Ryan ThomasMaristJr.Metro Atlantic Athletic
Luke VandermatenIowaSr.Big Ten
Tyler WarmothFlorida StateR-Sr.Atlantic Coast
Wayne WagesGeorgia StateSr.Sun Belt
Keenan WingfieldLittle RockJr.Sun Belt
Bryan YoungMissouri StateJr.Missouri Valley
Dylan ZaroskyHouston BaptistSr.Southland
Related Articles