May 5, 2010 - by
Koepka: ACC Golfer of The Year

May 5, 2010

Florida State University sophomore Brooks Koepka has been named the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year – an award which he shares with Virginia’s Ben Kohles. Koepka and senior Seath Lauer have also been named to the All-ACC Men’s Golf Team in a vote by the leagues 11 head coaches. Koepka is only the second Seminole to earn ACC Player of the Year honors and this year marks the fourth consecutive season that two Florida State players have been named to the All-ACC Team. It marks the first time Koepka and Lauer have earned All-ACC honors during their careers.

Koepka, who is ranked sixth in the nation by GolfWeek Magazine, is the first Seminole since Bobby Cochran in 1994 to be named the ACC Player of the Year. He was ranked as the nation’s No. 1 golfer for two weeks during the months of February and March. Koepka has a career-low 71.48 stroke average and has an 11-5 record in head to head competition against the players he has competed against who are currently ranked in the nation’s top 10.

Koepka was named the ACC Freshman of the Year in 2009. He is only the seventh player in ACC history to earn ACC Freshman of the Year and ACC Player of the Year honors during his career. Koepka joins Tim Clark (NC State, FOY in 1996 and POY in 1997), Matt Kuchar (Georgia Tech, FOY in 1997 and POY in 1998), Bryce Molder (Georgia Tech, FOY in 1998, POY in 1999, 2000 and 2001), Bill Hass (Wake Forest, FOY in 2001, POY in 2003 and 2004), Ryan Blaum (Duke, FOY in 2003, POY in 2005 and 2006) and Webb Simpson (Wake Forest, FOY in 2005, POY in 2008) as the most honored golfers in ACC history.

“We are very happy for Brooks to have earned such a great honor,” said head coach Trey Jones. “To be named the ACC Player of the Year as a sophomore really illustrates what an outstanding golfer Brooks truly is and what a bright future he has ahead of him. The great thing about his potential is how focused he is on this year and how much confidence he and his teammate have heading into regionals and hopefully the NCAA finals in the coming weeks.”

Koepka has led the Seminoles to three team victories and seven top-five team finishes. The Seminoles won the team titles at the Golfweek Challenge and the Gary Koch Intercollegiate in the fall and won the Seminole Intercollegiate team championship in the spring. The Seminoles are ranked 10th nationally by GolfStat and have spent virtually the entire spring season ranked in the nation’s top 10.

“I am very happy to be named the ACC Player of the Year,” said Koepka. “It’s an honor to have my name mentioned with some of the greatest players in the history of the ACC and it is also a great thing for our program. Honors like this for the players in our program are tributes to our coaching staff – Coach Jones and Coach Malloy – and my teammates who have helped push our program in the direction we all want it to go on an annual basis. Hopefully we can all continue to play well for the remainder of the season to achieve the results we know we are capable of achieving.”

In earning All-ACC honors, Koepka (Wellington, Fla.) and Lauer (Huntington, Ind.) are the seventh and eighth players to be named to the All-ACC team in the last four years under head coach Trey Jones. Prior to Jones’s arrival in 2004, the Seminoles had a total of five players earn All-ACC honors since joining the ACC for the 1992 season. Since his arrival as head coach, the Seminoles have earned eight All-ACC selections (all since 2007), had one player earn ACC Rookie (Koepka in 2009) and ACC Player (Koepka in 2010) of the year honors and won the first ACC Championship title in the sport of golf in school history in 2008.

Lauer, who earned his first career tournament win at the Seminole Intercollegiate in March, holds a career-low 72.17 scoring average entering postseason play. He has earned a career-high five top five and a career-high four top 10 individual finishes this season. Lauer leads the team in rounds scored at 75 or better (22 of 26) and carded his career low single round score of 66 in the first round of the fall 2009 Gary Koch Intercollegiate.

“It’s an honor to be named to the All-ACC team,” said Lauer. “It’s something that you set as a goal for yourself and I am glad to be part of such an elite group of players on that list. It’s an honor to earn All-ACC honors when you look at the history of our league and see the hall of fame players who earned the honor during their collegiate careers.”

Florida State closes out its regular season at the Golden Ocala Invitational May 6 at the Golden Ocala Golf Club in Ocala, Fla. The Seminoles will then await the announcement of the NCAA Tournament field of 72 on May 10. The sites are: The Capital City Country Club (Alpharetta, Ga.), The Warren Golf Course (Notre Dame, Ind.), The Carlton Oaks Country Club (San Diego, Calif.), The Traditions Club (College Station, Texas), The Gold Mountain Country Club (Bremerton, Wash.) and the Yale University Golf Club (New Haven, Conn.) The Championship finals are June 1-6 at the Honors Course at the University of Tennessee Chattanooga in Chattanooga, Tenn.

2010 All-ACC Men's Golf Team
Name                   School             Yr       Hometown
Brooks Koepka          Florida State      So       Wellington, Fla.
Seath Lauer            Florida State      Sr       Huntington, Ind.
Ben Martin             Clemson            Sr       Greenwood, S. C.
Adam Long              Duke               Sr       St. Louis, Mo.
John-Tyler Griffin     Georgia Tech       Jr       Wilson, N.C.
Chesson Hadley         Georgia Tech       Sr       Raleigh, N.C.
James White            Georgia Tech       So       Acworth, Ga.
Jack Fields            North Carolina     So       Southern Pines, N.C.
Matt Hill              NC State           Jr       Brights Grove, Ontario
Will Collins           Virginia           Jr       Salisbury, N.C.
Ben Kohles             Virginia           So       Cary, N.C.
Lee Bedford            Wake Forest        So       Cary, N.C.
Brendan Gielow         Wake Forest        Sr       Muskegon, Mich.

ACC Co-Players of the Year
Brooks Koepka, Florida State
Ben Kohles, Virginia

ACC Freshman of the Year
Brinson Paolini, Duke (Fr., Virginia Beach, Va.)

ACC Coach of the Year
Bowen Sargent, Virginia

Related Articles