March 2, 2005 - by
Last Chance for FSU Begins in Gainesville

March 2, 2005

Last Chance Notes
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Tallahassee, Fla. – The indoor season for the Florida State track and field team has come down to two last chance meets and the national championships. FSU will compete at the Gator Fast Times Open Qualifier and the Cyclones Last Chance Meet this week in hopes of bettering this season’s qualifying marks and securing additional berths to the 2005 NCAA National Championships. The meet at the University of Florida takes place on Thursday, March 3 while the Iowa State event is scheduled for Saturday, March 5.

Men Win ACC Championships… The Florida State men’s track and field team won its third consecutive Atlantic Coast Conference Indoor Track and Field Championship and fourth since joining the league in 1992. The win came down to the last event, the 4x400m relay. FSU had to successfully defend the event title for a third time in order to win the overall league championship. The last minute additions of freshmen Walter Dix, who won the 60m and 200m events earlier that day, and individual 400m champion Ricardo Chambers to the relay proved beneficial, as the Tribe successfully defended the event title and completed the come from behind win over the Tigers in the squad race. Individual event winners included both relays (1600m and distance medley), freshmen Walter Dix (60m and 200m) and Ricardo Chambers (400m), sophomore Tom Lancashire (mile) and juniors Rafeeq Curry (triple) and Andrew Lemoncello (3000m). Senior Lacy Janson won her third indoor pole vault title and sixth overall conference championship in as many tries.

FSU Sweeps League Honors… Head coach Bob Braman and the men’s squad were recognized for their valiant effort at the conference championships, taking home coach, performer and rookie of the year honors. Braman earned the indoor honor, in just his second season, and added it to his men’s cross country coaching nod from the 2003 season. Lancashire is the first Atlantic Coast Conference Most Valuable Performer from FSU since Phillip Riley in 1994. At the championships, Lancashire accounted for 25 points including anchoring the distance medley relay to its second consecutive title behind a four-minute mile, taking his first individual event title in the mile, after placing second the season before, and scoring points in the 3000m run to end the multi-day meet. Rookie Walter Dix, who also had a strong case for league MVP, scored 30 points en route to being named ACC Rookie of the Year in his first conference championship, winning the 60m and 200m dash titles and then running the third leg of the team-title clinching 4x400m relay.

Last Chance For Small Group of Noles… Tom Lancashire, Ian Hornabrook, Chris Nickinson, Willie Johnson, Johnta Griffin, Rafeeq Curry, Lacy Janson, LaToya Legree, Barbara Parker and Kim Walker head to Gainesville, Fla., for the Gator Fast Times Open Qualifier to better their season-best or provisional qualifying marks in order to earn a place at next week’s national championships competition. Ricardo Chambers is the lone Seminole competing on Saturday, running in the 400m dash against one of the fastest fields in the nation at the Cyclones Last Chance Meet.

Women Take Sixth at ACCs… The FSU women’s team finished in sixth place with 52 points. Senior Lacy Janson won her third indoor Atlantic Coast Conference Championship while junior Deanna Lane took second place in the pentathlon, with a provisional-qualifying 3751 points and contributed nine points towards the team finish. Olympian Kim Walker was a runner-up in the 60m dash, running a career-best 7.53 for All-ACC honors and eight points of the Seminole’s team points. Lindsey Nelson and LaToya Legree finished in fifth place in the shot put and triple jump, respectively. Evelyne-Cynthia Niako’s sixth place finish in the 400m dash was sparked by a season-best mark for the All-American, who ran a 56.04 in the prelims and a 56.14 in the finals.

Lane Pins Down the Pentathlon… Deanna Lane is leading the Seminole front in the pentathlon. The junior placed in the top five in all five events including a five-way tie for first place in the high jump and a second place finish in the 60m hurdles. She took fourth in the shot put and long jump and fifth in the 800m run. Lane improved one spot from last season’s third place finish and earned All-ACC honors for the second consecutive season.

Notable League Performances… In winning the ACC Championship, every single point counted – literally. Top performances included redshirt sophomore Garrett Johnson’s second place finish in the shot put, Lemoncello’s third place in the 5000m run, junior Shawn Allen’s third place in the high jump, senior captain Ian Hornabrook’s second place in the mile, sophomore Tommy Noyes’ third place in the 800m, Johnta Griffin’s third place in the long jump.

Nationals On The Horizon… The 2005 NCAA Indoor Track and Field National Championships is right around the corner, beginning Thursday, March 10, 2005. Scheduled to attend the three-day meet, representing the Garnet and Gold are Rafeeq Curry (triple jump), Walter Dix (60m, 200m), Lacy Janson (pole vault) and Garrett Johnson (shot put). Ricardo Chambers (400m), Tom Lancashire (mile), freshman Kenny O’Neal (60m) and Andrew Diakos (weight throw) have provisional marks which may place them in the field at the nation’s best meet. Start lists will be announced at the beginning of next week.

Gainesville Always Good For Noles… The home of the Gators has been owned by the Tribe this season. Members of the FSU track squad have automatically qualified, provisionally qualified, picked up an event win or run a career-best mark at the Stephen O’Connell Center. Garrett Johnson recorded one of the best performances in the nation at the meet while Lacy Janson returned to her national champion form at Florida. Diakos recorded two of his career-best throws there while Kenny O’Neal and 400m league champion Ricardo Chambers picked up their first event wins at the Florida Intercollegiate meet. LaToya Legree won one of her two event titles in a career-best jump in Gainesville.

All-ACC Team Selections For 2005… 14 Florida State track and field team members were named to the All-ACC team, breaking the previous indoor mark of 12 set in 2004. Walter Dix picked up three honors for top finishes in the 60m and 200m as well as a leg of the 4x400m relay. Two-event, top-finishers include Greg Johnson (DMR, 4x400m), Tom Lancashire (Mile, DMR), Andrew Lemoncello (3000m, 5000m), Rafeeq Curry (Triple and Long jumps) and Ricardo Chambers (200m, 400m). Picking up their second league nods were Tommy Noyes, Ian Hornabrook and Garrett Johnson. Shawn Allen (high jump), Dix, Chambers, Johnta Griffin, Chris Nickinson, Elliott Wood. Kenny Jesensky were on the list of first time conference honorees.

Related Articles