March 3, 2016 - by
League-Best Three Noles Named to All-ACC Academic Team

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( — Not only is the 14th-ranked Florida State Women’s Basketball team getting the job done on the court, it is also taking care of business in the academic world. A league-high three Seminoles were named to the All-ACC Women’s Basketball Academic Team, announced on Thursday by the conference.

Juniors Leticia Romero, Brittany Brown and Ivey Slaughter are Florida State’s three representatives on the academic team. Slaughter and Brown are Sport Management majors while Romero is studying International Affairs. All three student-athletes have contributed significantly to FSU’s 23-6 season while includes a No. 4 seed in the ACC Tournament.

“I’m very proud of how our team has excelled both on and off the court this season,” FSU head coach Sue Semrau said. “Having three student-athletes, the most of any ACC school, on the All-ACC Academic Team is a testament to their hard work. They work hard to balance their lives as students and athletes.

“I compliment Dr. Greg Beaumont and his academic staff for their selfless guidance and support.”

Florida State’s three All-ACC Academic Team recipients are its most since 2007 when it also landed three. Brown, whose 87 steals leads the conference, is a two-time selection after being named to the team last year.

The Seminoles’ academic lineage is quite strong. Current assistant coach Brooke Wyckoff, who was a four-time All-ACC Academic Team member from 1998-01, is the team’s current liaison with FSU’s academic department. Former FSU player and current Senior Women’s Administrator Vanessa Fuchs is also a former All-ACC Academic Team recipient.


League-Best Three Noles Named to All-ACC Academic Team

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

NC State junior guard Ashley Williams was named the recipient of the eighth annual Kay Yow Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award. The ACC women’s basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is named in memory of the legendary Yow, who won 737 games as a head coach while directing NC State to four ACC Tournament championships and the 1988 U.S. Olympic Team to a gold medal.

Yow, who passed away in January of 2009, is also remembered for her leadership and courage in her fight against breast cancer.

Kay Yow Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Ashley Williams, Jr., G, NC State

2015-16 ACC All-Academic Women’s Basketball Team
Nicole Boudreau, Sr., G, Boston College ****
Danielle Edwards, Fr., G, Clemson
Rebecca Greenwell, R-So., G, Duke **
Kyra Lambert, Fr., G, Duke
Brittany Brown, Jr., G, Florida State **
Leticia Romero, Jr., G, Florida State
Ivey Slaughter, Jr., F, Florida State
Antonia Peresson, So., G, Georgia Tech
Roddreka Rogers, Sr., F, Georgia Tech **
Briahanna Jackson, R-Jr., G, Louisville
Emese Hof, Fr, F/C, Miami
Jessica Thomas, Jr., G, Miami
Destinee Walker, Fr., G, North Carolina
Ashley Williams, Jr., G, NC State**
Jennifer Mathurin, Jr., F, NC State
Marina Mabrey, Fr., G, Notre Dame
Arike Ogunbowale, Fr., G, Notre Dame
Brenna Wise, Fr., F, Pitt
Brianna Butler, Sr., G, Syracuse ***
Breyana Mason, Jr., G Virginia **
Faith Randolph, Sr., G, Virginia **
Vanessa Panousis, Jr., G, Virginia Tech **
Regan Magarity, R-Fr., F, Virginia Tech

Related Articles