May 21, 2013 - by
Lebioda Named ACC Freshman Of The Year

May 21, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. –The Atlantic Coast Conference announced its 2013 Men’s Golf All-Conference team and individual awards Tuesday as selected by the league’s 11 head coaches. Hank Lebioda was selected as the ACC Freshman of the Year. Florida State let the way with three players selected to the All-ACC squad.

“I am very proud of all that hank has accomplished this year and am happy to see his hard work rewarded,” said head coach Trey Jones. “I would not be surprised if he was our first player to make All-ACC four straight years. He has been an integral part of our success this year and I know he will be in the future as well.”

Lebioda leads all ACC freshmen, and ranks ninth overall, in stroke average (71.84) and is ranked 94th by Golfweek. In becoming only the second Seminole to earn ACC Freshman of the Year honors, the Winter Springs, Fla. product finished tied for 10th place at last month’s ACC Championship with a three-under 213 (68-71-74) and during the spring season finished no worse than 19th in six tournament competitions.

“I can’t be more honored to be named ACC Freshman of the Year,” said Lebioda. “What the coaching staff and my teammates have done to help me develop as a golfer and a man means everything to me and I can’t thank them enough. The opportunity given to me by Coach Jones and my parents was something that I never wanted to take for granted and it’s made me realize how great it is to be a Seminole.”

Joining Lebioda on the All-ACC team was sophomore Daniel Berger, the runner-up in the balloting for ACC Player of the Year, and senior Chase Seiffert. Berger won two tournaments this spring (Gator Invitational and Seminole Intercollegiate) and lead the ACC in stroke average (70.00).

Seiffert’s 71.11 stroke average is good for third in the conference and finished tied for second in three tournaments this fall, the NCAA Tallahassee Regional, ACC Championship and Seminole Intercollegiate.

Check back to for all your information on the golf team and follow the team at

The 2013 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team is as follows:

Anders Albertson, So., Georgia Tech Woodstock, Ga.
Evan Beck, Sr., Wake Forest Virginia Beach, Va.
Daniel Berger, So., Florida State Jupiter, Fla.
Sean Bosdosh, Jr., Maryland Clarksburg, Md.
Albin Choi, Jr., NC State Toronto, Canada
Hank Lebioda, Fr., Florida State Winter Springs, Fla.
Denny McCarthy, So., Virginia Rockville, Md.
Mikey Moyers, Sr., Virginia Tech Stanardsville, Va.
Brinson Paolini, Sr., Duke Virginia Beach, Va.
Ollie Schniederjans, So., Georgia Tech Powder Springs, Ga.
Chase Seiffert, Sr., Florida State Panama City, Florida
Scott Vincent, So., Virginia Tech Harare, Zimbabwe

Coach of the Year: Jamie Green, Duke
Player of the Year: Albin Choi, NC State
Freshman of the Year: Hank Lebioda, Florida State


Related Articles