March 31, 2005 - by
Liljestrand To Particicpate In Three-Point Contest On ESPN

March 31, 2005

Florida State senior Linnea Liljestrand will participate as an alternate in the 17th annual Mountain Dew Three-Point Shooting Championship contest tonight at Washington University Field House as part of the festivities surrounding the NCAA Men’s Basketball Final Four in St. Louis, Mo.

Liljestrand will compete with six other women’s players and six male players for the 3-point shooting title. The events air on ESPN and ESPN2 (see schedule below), with Brad Nessler as host and Steve Lavin and Mark Jones as analysts covering the competitions.

“Obviously I am super excited to be competing in this contest,” Liljestrand said, “but I am also just excited to be able to take the court again. This is a perfect ending to our great season and I am proud to represent Florida State and my team. Competing with some of the top shooters in the country is going to be a lot of fun. I am obviously going to try to win it, but I am also going to have fun. This is my first trip to St. Louis and I think it (Final Four) will be a really cool atmosphere to be in.”

Liljestrand set a Florida State single-season record with 54 three-pointers this season. Over her four-year career, she connected on 110 triples. The senior guard scored in double figures 12 times in 2004-05 and was fifth on the team in scoring at 8.4 points per game. She hit at least one three-pointer in 27 games this season.

17th Annual Mountain Dew College Slam Dunk and Three-Point Championships

Event Host: Brad Nessler

Event Analysts: Steve Lavin, Mark Jones

Judges: Torry Holt (STL Rams), Issac Bruce (STL Rams), Steven Jackson (STL Rams), Spud Webb (former NBA player), Jackie Joyner Kersee (track & field Olympic & world champion)

Tape-Delay TV Schedule
ESPN: Thur., March 31 – 9 p.m.; Sat., April 1-3 p.m.; Thur., April 7 – 2 p.m.
ESPN2: Sun., April 3 – 12:30 a.m.; Sun., April 3 – 2:30 p.m.

Linnea Liljestrand - Florida State
Jamie Carey - Texas
Jenni Dandt - DePaul
Laurie Koehn - Kansas State
Leah Metcalf - North Carolina
Anne O'Neil - Iowa State
Kendra Wecker - Kansas State

MEN'S THREE POINT SHOOTING COMPETITORS Drake Diener - DePaul Travis Diener - Marquette Daniel Ewing - Duke John Lucas - Oklahoma State Tre Simmons - University of Washington T.J. Sorrentine - Vermont

Related Articles