June 17, 2014 - by
Manuel Named To Maxwell Watch List – Florida State University

Manuel Named To Maxwell Watch List – Florida State University

Rotating image8

Manuel Named To Maxwell Watch List

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. -- The Maxwell Football Club announced its watch list for the 75th annual Maxwell Award, given to America's outstanding collegiate football player since 1937 and named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. 

The watch list incorporates a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast. Returning Maxwell Award semifinalists from 2010 include Oklahoma State WR Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma WR Ryan Broyles, Baylor QB Robert Griffin, Oregon RB LaMichael James, Stanford QB Andrew Luck, Nebraska QB Taylor Martinez, Boise State QB Kellen Moore and Michigan QB Denard Robinson.

The 2010 Maxwell Award winner, QB Cam Newton of Auburn left school early following his junior season. Newton was selected No. 1 overall in the National Football League Draft by the Carolina Panthers.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 31 and the three finalists for the award will be unveiled Nov. 21. The winner of the 2011 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 8. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 2.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, evaluating past performance and future potential. Additions and deletions to these lists will happen as the 2011 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the award.

The Maxwell Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

2011 Maxwell Award Watch List
Edwin BakerRBMichigan StateLandry JonesQBOklahoma
Montee BallRBWisconsinCase KeenumQBHouston
Vick BallardRB Mississippi StateMarcus LattimoreRBSouth Carolina
Matt BarkleyQBUSCRyan LindleyQBSan Diego State
Justin BlackmonWROklahoma StateZach LineRBSMU
Tyler BrayQBTennesseeAndrew LuckQBStanford
Ryan BroylesWROklahomaE.J. ManuelQBFlorida State
Greg ChildsQBArkansasDoug MartinRBBoise State
Marcus CokerRBIowaTaylor MartinezQBNebraska
Zach CollarosQBCincinnatiBryant MonizQBHawaii
Kirk CousinsQB Michigan StateKellen MooreQBBoise State
Juron CrinerWRArizonaAaron MurrayQBGeorgia
Dayne CristQBNotre DameDanny O'BrienQBMaryland
Dominique DavisQBEast CarolinaIsaiah PeadRBCincinnati
Knile DavisRBArkansasDan PersaQBNorthwestern
Michael DyerRBAuburnChris PolkRBWashington
Andre EllingtonRBClemsonTauren PooleRBTennessee
Michael FloydWRNotre DameBobby RaineyRBWestern Kentucky
Nick FolesQBArizonaTrent RichardsonRBAlabama
Johnathan FranklinRBUCLADenard RobinsonQBMichigan
Jeff FullerWRTexas A&MNathan ScheelhaaseQBIllinois
Stephen GarciaQBSouth CarolinaGeno SmithQBWest Virginia
Mike GlennonQBNC StateRodney StewartRBColorado
Ray GrahamRBPittsburghRyan TannehillQBTexas A&M
Cyrus GrayRBTexas A&MStepfan TaylorRBStanford
Robert GriffinQBBaylorDarron ThomasQBOregon
Chandler HarnishQB Northern IllinoisBrandon WeedenQBOklahoma State
Montel HarrisRBBoston CollegeEd WesleyRBTCU
Jared HassinRBArmyJames WhiteRBWisconsin
Ronnie HillmanRBSan Diego StateDavid WilsonRBVirginia Tech
LaMichael JamesRBOregonRussell WilsonQBWisconsin
Alshon JefferyWRSouth CarolinaTyler WilsonQBArkansas
Damaris JohnsonWRTulsaRobert WoodsWRUSC

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/21807

Leave a comment

FSU on YouTube

Related Articles