August 14, 2012 - by
McCarty, Jaurena Named To MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 14, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Florida State seniors Tiffany McCarty and Ines Jaurena were named to the Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy Watch List as announced by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. The Seminoles were one of nine schools with at least two players named to the 38-member list.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

“Tiff and Ines have had a great three-year career up to this point,” said head coach Mark Krikorian. “The two are our team leaders and we rely upon them to play at a high level, so it’s a great honor for them to be put in that category as the best players in the nation. I am really excited for them and hoping that they have a Hermann Trophy type year.”

McCarty appears on the watch list for the third year in a row, while Jaurena is making her first appearance. In 2011, both McCarty and Jaurena were named Hermann Trophy semifinalists. It was the second time in her career that McCarty reached that stage in the voting and first since 2009 when she finished the season as a consensus All-American and the ACC Offensive Player of the Year. The Laurel, Md., is the first Seminole to be named a semifinalist twice in her career. For Jaurena, it was her first-ever appearance on the list as she joined Becky Edwards (2009) as the only defenders in Florida State history to be recognized as Hermann Trophy semifinalists.

“Obviously, it’s a very prestigious award and it’s a good testament to our team and what we have accomplished over the years,” said McCarty. “It’s an honor to be on the watch list, but we all have one goal and that is to win a national championship.”

Ines Jaurena was named a semifinalist for the Hermann Trophy in 2011.

“Of course it’s nice, but it’s not going to change my game or the way I play,” said Jaurena. “I am going to continue to do my thing and keep doing what I know I can do to help my team win.”

McCarty and Jaurena join a growing list of Seminole greats that have been named to the Hermann Trophy Watch List over the years. Florida State has had a student-athlete named to the watch list every year since 2004, while this year marks the sixth time in school history that two student-athletes have been named to the preseason list. In 2004, Leah Gallegos became the first Seminole stand out to make the list. She was then followed by Kelly Rowland (2005), Selin Kuralay (2006), India Trotter (2006) and Sarah Wagenfuhr (2007). Becky Edwards and Amanda DaCosta were both named to the preseason watch list in back-to-back seasons in 2008 and 2009, while McCarty and Toni Pressley were honored on the watch list in both 2010 and 2011.

In 2007, Mami Yamaguchi became the first Seminole player to claim the top individual honor in women’s soccer. She won the Hermann Trophy after leading the country in points (66) and finishing second in goals (24) and assists (18). Yamaguchi played a major role in Florida State’s run to the 2007 National Championship game. The Tokyo, Japan native also made school history becoming the first FSU player to be named a finalist for the Hermann Trophy.

The watch list will be narrowed down by NSCAA members from Division I programs to 15 semifinalists by November 29. Member coaches and fans will then vote for their top three choices and the finalists will be announced December 6. The winners will be announced at the awards’ banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, January 11, 2013.

2012 NSCAA Women’s MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List honorees:

Player, Class, Pos., School, Hometown

Caitlin Alves, Sr., M, Hartford

Natasha Anasi*, Jr., D, Duke, Arlington

Audrey Bledsoe, Jr., GK, Wake Forest

Morgan Brian*, So., M, Virginia

Chelsea Buckland, Sr., F, Oregon State

Zakiya Bywaters, Sr., M, UCLA

Abigail Dahlkemper, So., D, UCLA

Vanessa DiBernardo, Jr., M, Illinois

Crystal Dunn, Jr., M, North Carolina

Christine Exeter Jr., F, Louisville

Adrianna Franch* Sr., GK, Oklahoma State

Kelsey Haycook, So., F, LaSalle

Maya Hayes#, Jr., F, Penn State

Ines Jaurena*, Sr., D, Florida State

Tishia Jewell, Sr., F, Central Florida

Julie Johnston*, Jr., M, Santa Clara

Maegan Kelly Jr., M/F, Marquette

Kaitlyn Kerr, Jr., M, Duke

Nadia Link, Sr., F, Long Beach State

Lindsi Lisonbee, Sr., D, Brigham Young

Bry McCarthy, Sr., D, West Virginia

Tiffany McCarty*, Sr., F, Florida State

Kristen Mewis, Sr. M, Boston College

Caroline Miller, Sr. F, Virginia

Kelley Monogue, So., F, Texas A&M

Christine Nairn, Sr., M, Penn State

Alexa Newfield, Jr., M, Georgia

Christabel Oduro, Jr., F, Memphis

Emily Oliver, Jr., GK, Stanford

Michelle Pao, Jr., D, Pepperdine

Erin Quinlan, Jr. GK, Hartford

Katie Stengel*, Jr., F, Wake Forest

Mallory Schaffer*, Sr., M, William & Mary

Erika Tymrak Sr., M, Florida

Becca Wann, Jr., F, Richmond

Renee Washington, Jr., M, LaSalle

Colleen Williams, Sr., F, Dayton

Kathryn Williamson, Sr., D, Florida

* 2011 Hermann Award Semifinalist
# 2011 Hermann Award Finalist


Related Articles