June 21, 1999 - by
Men’s Swim Team Heads to Notre Dame

December 1, 1998

#12 FSU men (4-1, 1-0 in ACC) will take on swimmers from Notre Dame, West Virginia, Ball State, Michigan State, Ohio, Butler and Western Kentucky

Week in Review

The Seminoles took the week off for the holidays after hosting in state rival Florida in their final home meet of the 1998 season. FSU lost to the Gators 92-150.

Past Action

The #13 Seminoles opened the season with wins over FAU (186-60), IRCC (151-8) and #22 Miami (175-66). FSU then headed to N.C. State for an ACC match-up with the Wolfpack. The Seminoles trailed going into the relay but the team of Julio Santos, Matt McVittie, Kevin Flanagan and Keam Ang won the 200 Free Relay to clinch the win for FSU 123-120.

This year on the Men’s Squad

With the return of six All-Americans and two National Champions, the Seminoles look to improve on the 13th place finish at the NCAA’s.

Seniors Brendond Dedekind and Stephen Parry lead the way for the Seminoles. Dedekind won the 50 Free NCAA Championship last year and is a five time individual All-American. Parry, a co-captian, was FSU’s first NCAA individual swimming National Champion when he won the 200 Fly in 1997. Also returning for the Seminoles four other All-Americans fromthe 1998 season. Seniors Matt McVittie, a co-captain, and Julio Santos and juniors Kevin Flanagan and Brett Petersen return after scoring at the NCAA’s last year. The diving squad returns all three divers in juniors Brent Burkman, Glenn Gonzales, and Ben Nuttall.

The Seminoles welcome three newcomers to the team this year. Freshman Jonathun Fry, Jonathan Kaplan and Michael Singleton don the garnet and gold and will add depth and strength to the Seminole squad.

Related Articles