June 21, 1999 - by
Men’s Swimming Wins Dallas Morning News Classic

January 24, 1999

DALLAS, Texas – In action late Saturday night, the nine men representing Florida State at the Dallas Morning News Classic won five of the final events to finish first in the competition. FSU (319) was followed by Tennessee (298), Minnesota (293), host team Southern Methodist (270), Michigan (251) and Texas (242) after the final events on Saturday.

Julio Santos, Greg Main-Baillie, Matt McVittie and Brendon Dedekind started the night winning the 400 Free Relay. Stephen Parry won the 200 Back with Greg Main-Baillie finishing 8th in the same event. Parry then went on to set a WAC record as well as a pool and meet record with his winning time in the 200 Fly (1:44.77). Brendon Dedekind then won the 100 Free as Brett Petersen finished 2nd in the 200 Breast. Main-Baillie added points with a 6th place finish in the 200 IM as Nelson Mora finished 8th in the 200 Fly and 9th in the 500 Free. Brent Burkman finished 6th in the three-meter spring board competition. Parry, Santos, McVittie and Dedekind teamed up to win the final event of the night with a victory in the 200 Free Relay.

These nine men return to Tallahassee and join their team in the final dual meet of the season as the Seminoles and Lady Seminoles host Louisiana State on Saturday, January 30 at 1pm. The meet will be in the Bobby E. Leach Center on the FSU campus.

Related Articles