June 17, 2014 - by
#MIAvsFSU is Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up – Florida State University

#MIAvsFSU is Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up – Florida State University


Rotating image8

#MIAvsFSU is Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The 2013 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up for week ten highlights three-time Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week Jameis Winston of Florida State and Watch List quarterback Stephen Morris of Miami (Fla.) in an ACC match-up of Top 10 programs.

Throughout the season, the Davey O'Brien will highlight the best weekly quarterback match-up as the race for the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award continues. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 4.

Courtesy of the Davey O'Brien Foundation:

Marquee Match-up: No. 7* Miami (Fla.) at No. 3* Florida State

Saturday, November 2 at 8 p.m. (ET) on ABC

Jameis Winston threw for 292 yards and three touchdowns in a little over two quarters of action during Florida State's 49-17 win over North Carolina State last weekend. All three scores and 229 of his passing yards came during a school-record 35-point first quarter scoring outburst by the Seminoles.  

Stephen Morris and the Hurricanes needed a fourth quarter rally to dispatch a determined Wake Forest squad on Saturday to set up this weekend's renewal of one of college football's storied rivalries. Miami remains undefeated in 2013 and Morris is a big reason why. The senior quarterback has thrown for 1,463 yards and 10 touchdowns through seven games this season.  

Other Notable Games (based on start times)

  • Arizona State (Taylor Kelly) at Washington State (Connor Halliday)
    Thursday, October 31 at 9:30 pm (CT) on ESPN      
  • No. 21 Michigan (Devin Gardner) at No. 22 Michigan State (Connor Cook)
    Saturday, November 2 at 2:30 p.m. (CT) on ABC 
  • Nevada (Cody Fajardo) at No. 16 Fresno State (Derek Carr)
    Saturday, November 2 at 9:30 p.m. (CT) on ESPNU          

*All rankings reflect The Associated Press Top 25 poll  


About the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote 

Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 12 on ESPN and will be honored at the 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 16-17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.


About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away nearly $900,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/49590

Leave a comment

FSU on YouTube

Related Articles