October 30, 2008 - by
Myron Rolle Named As One Of 20 Quarterfinalists For Ronnie Lott Trophy

Oct. 30, 2008

            NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – Florida State’s Myron Rolle is one of twenty collegiate defensive players to earn a spot on the Lott Trophy quarterfinalist list. The Seminole rover is in the midst of his best season at Florida State and is in the running to win the first major award by an FSU defensive player since Jamal Reynolds won the Lombardi Trophy in 2000.


            Rolle is second on the team in tackles with 38 and he leads the team in pass break-ups with five. According to veteran defensive coordinator Mickey Andrews, Rolle played one of the best games by a safety/rover he has ever graded at FSU following evaluation of the game film versus Miami.


            Rolle was recently endorsed by Florida State University as a nominee for both the Rhodes and Marshall Scholarships. He is also a nominee for CoSIDA Academic All-American honors. The junior has already completed his undergraduate degree and is now preparing for his career in medicine following a hopefully long and successful NFL career.


Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.  Now in its fifth year, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.


            “This is another impressive list of candidates,” said Bob Cristiano, the President of the IMPACT Foundation, the sponsors of the award.  “They represent the best in college football and a great cross-section of our country.  It will be difficult to single out just one of these outstanding student-athletes.”

            Seven different conferences are represented on the list of 20 with the Southeastern Conference leading the way with five candidates.  Ohio State (James Laurinaitis, Malcolm Jenkins) is the only school with two quarterfinalists. There are nine linebackers on the list, seven defensive linemen and four defensive backs.  While there are 10 seniors on the list, there are also nine juniors (and one sophomore, Eric Berry), the most underclassmen to make the quarter-finalist Lott Trophy Watch List. 


Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the Lott award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.          


David Pollack of Georgia, DeMeco Ryans of Alabama, Dante Hughes of Cal and Glenn Dorsey of LSU were the winners of the first four Lott Trophies.  Georgia, Alabama, Cal and LSU each received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds.  In four years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated $450,000 to various charities, in addition to the universities.


Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and Legends Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches. The watch list will be trimmed to eight semifinalists on Nov. 11 and the four finalists, who will all be flown into California for the banquet,  will be announced Nov. 26.


The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach Dec. 14.  (Note: the banquet is sold out)


The keynote speaker will be long-time college football announcer Keith Jackson. 


The 20 Quarterfinalists:


Asher Allen, Jr., DB, Georgia

Eric Berry, So., DB, Tennessee

Aaron Curry, Sr., LB, Wake Forest

Brian Cushing, Sr., LB, USC

Zack Follett, Sr., LB, Cal

Mark Herzlich, Jr., LB, Boston College

George Hypolite, Sr., DT, Colorado

Jeremy Jarmon, Jr., DL, Kentucky

          Malcolm Jenkins, Sr., DB, Ohio State

Jan Jorgensen, Jr., DE, BYU

James Laurinaitis, Sr., LB, Ohio State

Scott McKillop, Sr., LB, Pitt

Brit Miller, Sr., LB, Illinois

Eric Norwood, Jr., LB, South Carolina

Brian Orakpo, Sr., DE, Texas

Nick Reed, Sr., DE, Oregon

Myron Rolle, Jr., S, Florida State

George Selvie, Jr., DE, South Florida

Brandon Spikes, Jr., LB, Florida

Sean Weatherspoon, Jr., LB, Missouri



Related Articles