November 12, 2008 - by
Myron Rolle Named As One Of Eight Semifinalists For Ronnie Lott Trophy

Nov. 12, 2008

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – It is shaping up to be quite a week for Florida State junior rover Myron Rolle. The Galloway, NJ native will head to Birmingham, AL next week to interview for the Rhodes Scholarship and on Wednesday he was named one of eight semifinalists for the Lott Trophy. Rolle is vying to win the first national award for a Seminole defensive player since 2000.


            Rolle is second on the team in tackles with 46 and he is second on the team in pass break-ups with five. He has started 31 straight games since his true freshman year and.


            Rolle has already been named a CoSIDA Academic all-district selection this year. The junior has completed his undergraduate degree and is now preparing for his career in medicine.


Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.  Now in its fifth year, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.


            Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the Lott award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.          


David Pollack of Georgia, DeMeco Ryans of Alabama, Dante Hughes of Cal and Glenn Dorsey of LSU were the winners of the first four Lott Trophies.  Georgia, Alabama, Cal and LSU each received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds.  In four years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated $450,000 to various charities, in addition to the universities.


Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and Legends Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches. Four finalists will be announced Nov. 26 with all four attending the annual gala black-tie banquet in Newport Beach Dec. 14 where the winner will be announced.  The winning player’s university will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund and each of the three other finalists will receive $5,000 for their school’s general scholarship fund.  (Note: the banquet is sold out)


The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach Dec. 14.  (Note: the banquet is sold out)


The keynote speaker will be long-time college football announcer Keith Jackson. 


The Semifinalists:


Eric Berry, So., DB, Tennessee

Aaron Curry, Sr., LB, Wake Forest

James Laurinaitis, Sr., LB, Ohio State

Scott McKillop, Sr., LB, Pitt

Brit Miller, Sr., LB, Illinois

Brian Orakpo, Sr., DE, Texas

Nick Reed, Sr., DE, Oregon

Myron Rolle, Jr., S, Florida State


Related Articles