April 4, 2008 - by
Myron Rolle Named To The Lott Trophy Watch List

April 4, 2008

Newport Beach CA – Florida State rover Myron Rolle is one of 42 collegiate players on the initial watch list for the 2008 Lott Trophy. Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.  Now in its fourth year, The Lott Trophy is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player. 


Rolle, a rising junior, started all 13 games for the Seminoles in 2007 and has started 23 consecutive games entering the 2008 season. Rolle was one of only five Seminole players on the defensive side of the ball who started at the same position in all 13 regular season games. He was fourth on the team in tackles with 67 and has 144 total tackles in the first two seasons of his career. Last year he set his single-season career-high with 36 unassisted tackles.


The New Jersey native recorded at least five tackles in nine of his 13 games played and he was tied for third on the team with eight tackles in the Music City Bowl. In that bowl game, Rolle forced the first fumble of his career and it was returned for 52 yards by Tony Carter and set up an FSU TD, which tied the game at 14-14.


Rolle’s inclusion on the Lott Trophy watch list has just as much to do with his stellar record off the field. He was named to the 2007 All-ACC academic team, inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society and received a Florida State University 2008 Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity Award. Rolle is majoring in exercise sciences and plans to attend medical school. He will enter the fall as senior academically. Rolle played the lead role in his school’s production of “Fiddler on the Roof” as a senior and wants to become a Rhodes Scholar like his good friend and former Seminole track and field star Garrett Johnson. In 2007 he was named an Arthur Ashe first team sports scholar and in 2006 Rolle won the Watkins Award, awarded to high school students on the basis of academic achievement, athletics and involvement in the community.


The Lott Trophy is sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.


David Pollack of Georgia won the initial Lott Trophy in 2004.  DeMeco Ryans of Alabama won the award in 2005 Daymeion Hughes of Cal was the recipient in 2006 and Glenn Dorsey of LSU in 2007.  Georgia, Alabama, Cal and LSU each received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds.  In four years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated more than $450,000 to various charities, including the four universities.


Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisers comprised of many retired NFL players and Master Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches.


The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Ca. on December 14th, 2008.


For further information on the Lott Trophy, please visit our website at Lotttrophy.com.


The 2008 Lott Trophy Watch List

Asher Allen, CB, Georgia, Jr., 5-10, 198 (Tucker, Ga)

Ted Bentler, DT, Army, Sr., 6-3, 251 (Bettendorf. Ia)

Eric Berry, DB, Tennessee, So., 5-11, 195 (Fairburn, Ga)

Russell Brorsen, DE, Kansas, Sr., 6-4, 240 (Stillwater, Ok)

Reggie Carter, LB, UCLA, Jr., 6-1, 220 (Los Angeles)

Jonathan Casillas, LB, Wisconsin, Sr., 6-2, 214 (New Brunswick, NJ)

Maurice Crum, Jr., LB, Notre Dame, Sr., 6-0, 225 (Riverview, Fl)

Aaron Curry, LB, Wake Forest, Sr., 6-3, 240 (Fayetville, NC)

Brian Cushing, LB, USC, Sr., 6-4, 245 (Park Ridge, NJ)

Zack Follett, LB, Cal, Sr., 6-2, 237 (Clovis, Ca)

Courtney Greene, S, Rutgers, Sr., 6-2, 210 (New Rochelle, NY)

Nic Harris, DB, Oklahoma, Sr., 6-3, 226 (Alexandria, La)

Mark Herzlich, LB, Boston College, Jr., 6-4, 238 (Wayne, Pa)

Brandon Hughes, CB, Oregon State, Sr., 5-11, 182 (Bloomington, In)

George Hypolite, DE, Colorado, Sr., 6-1, 285 (Los Angeles)

Jeremy Jarmon, DE, Kentucky, Jr., 6-3, 268 (Collierville, Tn)

Malcolm Jenkins, CB, Ohio State, Sr., 6-1, 208 (Piscataway, NJ)

Jan Jorgensen, DE, BYU, Jr., 6-3, 260, (Helper, Ut)

Mitch King, DT, Iowa, Sr., 6-3, 264 (Burlington, Ia)

John Larson, DL, Kansas, Sr., 6-3, 250 (Kansas City)

James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State, Sr., 6-3, 244 (Hamel, Mn)

Taylor Mays, S, USC, Jr., 6-4, 225 (Seattle)

Tyrone McKenzie, LB, South Florida, Sr., 6-2, 235 (Riverview, Fl)

Bo McNally, S, Stanford, Sr., 6-0, 208 (Salt Lake City)

Greg Middleton, DE, Indiana, Jr., 6-3, 275 (Indianapolis)

Scott Mikillop, LB, Pitt, Sr., 6-2, 240 (Export, Pa)

Brit Miller, LB, Illinois, Sr., 6-1, 251 (Decatur, Il)

William Moore, S, Missouri, Sr., 6-1, 215 (Hayti, Mo)

Troy Nolan, S, Arizona State, Sr., 6-2, 204 (Los Angeles)

Eric Norwood, DE, South Carolina, Jr., 6-0, 258 (Acworth, Ga)

Brian Orakpo, DE, Texas, Sr., 6-4, 260 (Houston)

Jeff Owens, DT, Georgia, Sr., 6-3, 298 (Sunrise, Fl)

Kirston Pittman, DE, LSU, Sr., 6-4, 252 (Garyville, La)

Zach Potter, DE, Nebraska, Sr., 6-7, 285 (Omaha)

Nick Reed, DE, Oregon, Sr., 6-2, 255 (Trabuco Canyon, Ca)

Darryl Richard, DT, Georgia Tech, Sr., 6-4, 285 (Destrehan, La)

Myron Rolle, DB, Florida State, Jr., 6-2, 215 (Galloway, NJ)

George Selvie, DE, South Florida, Jr., 6-4, 242 (Pensacola, Fl)

Brandon Spikes, LB, Florida, Jr., 6-3, 245 (Shelby, NC)

Alterraun Verner, DB, UCLA, Jr., 5-11, 178 (Carson, Ca)

Sean Weatherspoon, LB, Missouri, Jr., 6-1, 230 (Jasper, Tx)

Reed Williams, LB, West Virginia, Sr., 6-2, 225 (Moorefield, WVa)


Related Articles