January 28, 2010 - by
No. 13 Florida State Hosts Second Annual ITA Kick-Off Weekend

Jan. 28, 2010

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The No. 13 Florida State men’s tennis team (2-0) will be one of 15 national hosts for the second annual ITA Kick-Off event this weekend. The Seminoles will welcome No. 19 Louisville, No. 29 LSU and No. 32 Wisconsin on Friday, January 29th and Saturday, January 30th at the Scott Speicher Tennis Center.

“I think first of all we know we’ve got our hands full with three very good teams here,” said head coach Dwayne Hultquist. “Wisconsin has two players in the top 20, they both made national indoors, the final site. We’re looking for a very tough match right from the beginning.”

The tournament will begin on Friday morning at 11:00 a.m. as LSU faces off with Louisville. At 3:00 p.m. Florida State will take on Wisconsin. Then on Saturday the two winners will battle while a consolation dual-match will also take place. The winner’s of both matches will face at 1:00 p.m. while the other match begins at 10:00 a.m.

The team that wins both of their matches will advance to the ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Championships at the University of Virginia on February 12-15, 2010.

The Seminoles participated last year in the inaugural ITA Kick-Off Weekend in University Park, Pa. Florida State defeated Duke 5-0 and Oklahoma State 4-3 to advance to the 2009 ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Championships in Chicago.

The Seminoles have not met a team in this field since 1993 when they knocked off Wisconsin 4-3. It is the only time in history the two programs have met.

Florida State is also unbeaten all-time against Louisville. The Seminoles hold a 2-0 all-time mark in the series but have not met the Cardinals since 1987.

A longer history exists between FSU and LSU as they have met 13 times. The Tigers hold an 8-5 lead in a series that dates back to 1953. The last time the two squads met was 1984 – over 25 years ago.

All matches this weekend will take place at the Scott Speicher Tennis Center on the campus of Florida State University. Admission is free.


Related Articles