March 25, 2006 - by
No. 24 Florida State Upends No. 68 Maryland

March 25, 2006

COLLEGE PARK, Md. — The Maryland men’s tennis team fell to No. 24 Florida State, 6-1, in an Atlantic Coast Conference men’s tennis match Friday at the Tennis Center at College Park.

The Seminoles improved to 10-8 on the season and 3-1 in ACC action. The No. 68 Terrapins are now 8-3 overall and 1-2 in the ACC. The

“I thought we did a really good job of playing on a cold day,” FSU head coach Dwayne Hultquist said. “I’m particulary impressed with Chris Cloer who dominated his player and Chris Westerhof for being really agressive at the net. Maryland is a very good team with a lot of talented young players and I feel like this was a good road win for us.”

Florida State swept all three doubles matches for the first team point. At No. 1, No. 37 Chris Westerhof and Ytai Abougzir upset No. 35 Andrew Orban and Scott Fink, 8-4. At No. 2, Jonathas Sucupira and Sam Chang edged Nickolai Nielsen and Boris Fetbroyt 9-7. The Terps’ Josh Brauser and Michael Coleman were defeated 8-3 at the third doubles matchup against the duo of Maciek Sykut and Chris Cloer.

Nickolai Nielsen brought Maryland its only win, defeating Sucupira in the second singles match. Nielsen easily won the first set 6-2. Sucupira, grabbing the second set, 5-7, was ultimately defeated 10-4 in the third set.

FSU claimed victories at all the other singles positions. The reigning ACC “Performer of the Week” and 65th-ranked Abougzir wasted no time defeating Andreas Vaage-Nilsen 6-0, 6-3 at No. 1. At No. 3, Chang cruised to a 6-3, 6-2 victory over Scott Fink. Sykut was up 5-1 in the first set at No. 3 to Boris Fetbroyt before he retired. At No. 5 singles, Westerhof zoomed past John O’Rourke 6-1, 6-1 and Cloer took care of Josh Brauser (6-1, 6-1) at No. 6

Florida State continues ACC play at Boston College Sunday at 11:00 a.m.


Ytai Abougzir (FSU) d. Andreas Vaage-Nilsen 6-0, 6-3
Nickolai Nielsen (Md.) d. Jonathan Sucupira, 6-2, 5-7, 10-4
Sam Chang (FSU) d. Scott Fink, 6-3, 6-2
Maciek Sykut (FSU) d. Boris Fetbroyt, 5-1, ret.
Chris Westerhof (FSU) d. John O’Rourke, 6-1, 6-1
Chris Cloer (FSU) d. Josh Brauser, 6-1, 6-1

Abougzir/ Westerhof (FSU) d. Andrew Orban/Fink, 8-4
Sucupira/Chang (FSU) d. Nielsen/Fetbroyt, 9-7
Sykut/Cloer (FSU) d. Brauser/Michael Coleman, 8-3

Related Articles