May 23, 2010 - by
Noles Earn No. 5 Seed

May 23, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Florida State heads to Greensboro, N.C. for the ACC Baseball Championship as the No. 5 overall seed for the first time in school history. The Seminoles will open the tournament against fourth-seeded Miami on Wednesday, May 26 at 4:00 p.m., as announced by the Atlantic Coast Conference on Sunday afternoon.

As the No. 5 overall seed, Florida State (18-12 in ACC play) will be placed in Division A and will be joined by No. 1 Virginia (23-7), No. 4 Miami (20-10) and No. 8 Boston College (14-16).

The Seminoles will face Virginia in their second game of the tournament on Thursday, May 27 at 4:00 p.m. and will conclude pool play on Friday, May 28 taking on No. 8 Boston College at 12 noon.

Under the pool-play format, each team will play one game against each of the other three opponents in its division Wednesday-Saturday (May 26-29). The two teams with the best records within their respective division brackets will advance to the title game on Sunday, May 30, with the winner earning the ACC’s automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.

This marks the first time in conference history that the ACC Baseball Championship will be held in Greensboro. The Baseball Championship has been held in the state of North Carolina on four previous occasions since FSU joined the league in 1992 with all four being played in Durham. FSU owns a record of 12-8 all-time when the ACC Baseball Championship is played in North Carolina. The Seminoles have played for the conference championship three times in Durham, in 1996, 1998 and 2009.

Clemson (18-12) is the No. 2 seed and will be joined in Division B by No. 3 Georgia Tech (21-9), No. 6 Virginia Tech (16-13) and No. 7 NC State (15-15).

All 13 games of this year’s 37th annual ACC Baseball Championship will be televised for the fourth straight year with RSN, a regional network that includes Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic, FOX Sports Net South, FOX Sports Florida and New England Sports Network, providing coverage. Selected other games will be available via Sun Sports and SportsSouth. Check local listings for more details.

In addition, ISP Sports will be the national radio carrier of this year’s league tournament via Sirius/XM radio and ISP’s national network of affiliates (Wednesday – Friday: Sirius 215/XM 190; Saturday – Sunday: Sirius 122/XM 143). Live stats will also be available at the ACC Baseball Championship site.

Complete ACC Baseball Championship Schedule
Wednesday, May 26
Game 1 – #1 Virginia vs. #8 Boston College, 12:00 p.m.
Game 2 – #4 Miami vs. #5 Florida State, 4:00 p.m.
Game 3 – #2 Clemson vs. #7 NC State, 8:00 p.m.

Thursday, May 27
Game 4 – #4 Miami vs. #8 Boston College, 12:00 p.m.
Game 5 – #1 Virginia vs. #5 Florida State, 4:00 p.m.
Game 6 – #3 Georgia Tech vs. #6 Virginia Tech, 8:00 p.m.

Friday, May 28
Game 7 – #5 Florida State vs. #8 Boston College, 12:00 p.m.
Game 8 – #2 Clemson vs. #6 Virginia Tech, 4:00 p.m.
Game 9 – #3 Georgia Tech vs. #7 NC State, 8:00 p.m.

Saturday, May 29
Game 10 – #1 Virginia vs. #4 Miami, 12:00 p.m.
Game 11 – #2 Clemson vs. #3 Georgia Tech, 4:00 p.m
Game 12 – #6 Virginia Tech vs. #7 NC State, 8:00 p.m.

Sunday, May 30
Game 13 – Division A Winner vs. Division B Winner, 1:00 p.m.

Related Articles