February 28, 2012 - by
One For The Thumb!

Feb. 28, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State’s Bob Braman has been named the ACC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year, which was announced Tuesday by the league office.

Braman picked up the honor for the fifth time in his career after the Seminoles roared back from a 29.5-point deficit to win the 2012 ACC Indoor Championship by 27.5 points over defending champion Virginia Tech Saturday at the Reggie Lewis Track and Athletic Center in Boston, Mass.

It marked the ninth time in 10 years the Seminoles have carried home the championship trophy. The Seminoles won on the strength of their performance in the sprints and field events, capturing six gold medals and bringing back 12 All-ACC honors. They piled up 58 points in the sprints, including wins in the 60, 200 and 400-meter dashes. The decisive move into the lead came when the Seminoles posted a 1-2-3 sweep of the 200, behind three-time ACC Indoor Championship Most Valuable Track Performer Maurice Mitchell’s victory.

The sweep came on the heels of Gonzalo Barroilhet’s win in the pole vault. Michael Putman (shot put), Paul Madzivire (long jump), Kemar Hyman (60) and Stephen Newbold (400) all notched gold medal victories. FSU’s field events performers also combined for 49 points.

Spreading out for “last chance” opportunities
The men’s and women’s teams will be heading in a multitude of different directions this weekend for “last chance” meets in an attempt to increase the number of qualifiers for the NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships, set for March 9-10 in Nampa, Idaho.

Director of Sprints, Hurdles & Relays Ken Harnden will take a handful of sprinters and field event personnel to Arkansas, including Maurice Mitchell (60, 200), Horatio Williams (60, 200), David Ambler (60) and Stephen Newbold (200). Pole vaulters Gonzalo Barroilhet and Andrew Lahaye will be joined by Paul Madzivire (long jump) and Amy Harris (long jump, triple jump).

Associate head coach Harlis Meaders and women’s distance coach Karen Harvey are headed to Birmingham with Linden Hall, Violah Lagat, Aubree Worden and Kayleigh Tyerman all set to run the mile. Jennifer Dunn and Chelsi Woodruff are entered in the 3000 meters. They will be joined by sprinter Marecia Pemberton (60) and shot putter Michael Putman.

Head coach Bob Braman is bound for Notre Dame with a group of men’s distance runners, including David Forrester and AJ del Valle in the mile, as well as Darrin Gibson and Pablo Navarrete in the 800.

Only Kemar Hyman (60) and Amanda Winslow (3000) have met the automatic qualifying standards for the NCAA meet, although Maurice Mitchell (200), Horatio Williams (200), Michael Putman (shot put), Phillip Young (triple jump), Hannah Brooks and Winslow (mile), Michelle Jenije (triple jump) and Amy Harris (long jump) are reasonably well positioned to earn berths.

The Seminoles will also be represented in the outdoor season-opening meet this weekend – the UNF Spring Break Invitational.

`Noles climb in polls this week
FSU’s strong showing at the ACC Indoor Championships, by both the winning men and runner-up women, led to some modest upward movement in this week’s national poll, released by the USTFCCCA on Tuesday. The Seminole men climbed four spots to No. 16 nationally, while the women jumped up one spot to No. 20. The women moved up to No. 2 in the NCAA South Region rankings, while the men stood pat at No. 3 this week.

Putting a wrap on the ACC Championships
The Florida State men’s track team claimed some noteworthy achievements in the process of wrestling possession of the ACC Championship trophy after a one-year hiatus. The `Noles won six individual titles and 12 All-ACC honors (top-three finishes), which is about status quo for the program over the last decade, to wit:
• Dating to the 2003 ACC Indoor Championship, the Seminoles have won 53 gold medals out of a possible 170, which is a staggering 31 percent. On average, FSU has won 5.3 of a possible 17 gold medals each of the last 10 years.
Maurice Mitchell’s successful defense of his 200-meter dash title marked the ninth consecutive year the Seminoles have won that race. Mitchell joins former FSU great Walter Dix and Charles Clark as two-time, 200-meter champions.
Kemar Hyman’s victory in the 60-meter dash marked the third consecutive gold in the shortest sprint, with the previous two being won by Mitchell, who was second this past weekend.
• Beyond the previously mentioned individual ACC gold medal winners this year, Horatio Williams, Darrin Gibson, David Forrester and Stefan Brits each earned All-ACC honors for top-three finishes.
• On the women’s side, distance coach Karen Harvey’s squad produced 40 of FSU’s 87 runner-up points in the meet, while the field events contributed 35 more to the cause.
• Interestingly enough, the women did most of their damage by piling up points with fourth-to-eight place finishes, amassing 43 in all.
• While the men are a veteran team, the women are in a transition stage, with youth playing a significant factor. Freshmen supplied 22.5 points to the cause, headed by the mile trio of Colleen Quigley, Linden Hall and Aubree Worden. Jande Pierce (200, 4×400 relay), Briana Cherry-Bronson and Lakitta Johnson (weight throw) and Sarah Chandler (4×400 relay) were first-year scoring contributors.
• ACC champions included the meet and school-record setting distance medley relay team of Hannah Brooks, Jande Pierce, Aubree Worden and Amanda Winslow (11:08.17), Amy Harris in the long jump and Winslow in the 3000.
• Beyond the winners, Michelle Jenije (triple jump) and Chelsea Whalen (shot put) earned All-ACC honors.

Related Articles