November 3, 2011 - by
One For The Thumb

Nov. 3, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Florida State’s Karen Harvey was named the Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year after leading the Seminoles to their fourth consecutive ACC title and NC State’s Rollie Geiger, who directed the Wolfpack to its 12th ACC title in the past 16 years, was selected the ACC Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year.

In earning the award for the fifth straight year, Harvey guided the Seminoles to this year’s ACC women’s cross country title as they totaled 20 points and out-distanced runner-up Boston College by 59 points. All five Florida State runners placed in the top six, including junior Amanda Winslow, who placed second in the individual competition. Harvey has directed the Seminoles to back-to-back runner-up finishes at the NCAA Championships in 2009 and 2010. Florida State is currently the nation’s top-ranked team in the latest USTFCCA poll.

Geiger earned the league’s Coach of the Year award for the 13th time in his 30-year career as NC State’s head men’ cross country coach. Geiger directed the Wolfpack to its second ACC men’s title in three years and its 16th overall, placing five runners in the top 20 and edging second-place Florida State by four points in this past Saturday’s championship meet at Clemson, S.C. Geiger-coached cross country runners have earned All-ACC honors 167 times and been named All-America on 49 occasions. NC State is currently ranked 14th in this week’s USTFCCA poll.

Related Articles