October 27, 2014 - by
P.J. Williams Named Jim Thorpe Award Semifinalist

OKLAHOMA CITY – Florida State junior cornerback P.J. Williams was announced as one of 15 semifinalists for the 2014 Jim Thorpe Award on Monday.

The Thorpe Award is given to the top defensive back in college football.

Williams leads the undefeated Seminoles with six pass break-ups this season and has tallied 25 tackles. He had an interceptions versus Wake Forest and had the defensive play of the game against Oklahoma State in the season-opener, forcing a fumble and recovering the ball with FSU clinging to a six-point lead late in the fourth quarter.

Williams was a preseason All-ACC selection and is a member of the Bednarik Award and Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch Lists in addition to the Thorpe Award honor.

The Ocala, Fla., native was named the Defensive MVP of last season’s BCS Championship Game after he had seven tackles and a fourth-quarter interception in Florida State’s 34-31 victory over Auburn.

In 2013, Seminole senior defensive back Lamarcus Joyner was a finalist for the Thorpe Award. Deion Sanders (1988) and Terrell Buckley (1991) are the only Noles to ever win the Thorpe Award.

The Thorpe Award is named after history’s greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe, and is presented by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City. Thorpe excelled at every sport in which he competed, including football at which he played on the offensive and defensive side of the ball. The three Thorpe Award finalists will be named on Monday, November 24th and the winner will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 11th airing on ESPN. The winner of the 2014 Thorpe Award will be honored at a banquet in Oklahoma City on February 3, 2015.

Related Articles