October 19, 2007 - by
Parker Races Through a Few Questions with Seminoles.com

Oct. 19, 2007





Q: What made you decide to leave England to run at Florida State?
A: In America there’s a lot of funding. Normally you pay for travel in England. Here it’s just a good opportunity to get an education as well as to advance in running without having to fund yourself.

Q: Is there a specific meet or race that stands out as the most important to you, and what made it so special?
A: Probably last year when I came in third at nationals. Everyone wants to do well there and that was probably my best race so far.

Q: What else do you like to do when you’re not training or going to school?
A: I don’t really do a lot. We have quite a lot of people in our house so it’s always busy. I guess we play on the [Nintendo] Wii a lot since we just got it.

Q: Besides going home to Norfolk, do you have any other favorite vacation spots?
A: Not really. We travel a lot with running so I don’t get a lot of time for holiday outside of that, but probably just anywhere in Europe.

Q: Do you participate in any marathons or any other events outside of school?
A: Not marathons, but when I go home in the summer we compete. After we are done with nationals here, we have our own nationals at home. It’s pretty cool to get to go back and see all the people we haven’t raced all season.

Q: What are your goals for this season?
A: Hopefully I can improve on what I did last year since I’m a lot stronger. I just want to be better than last season and be ready for track season.

Q: What is your favorite type of music? Do you have some songs to pump you up before races?
A: I don’t really listen to music. A lot of people listen to iPods but I’ve never really done that.

Q: Did you participate in any other sports in high school or growing up?
A: I played soccer from about age 6 until I was 18, but my coach made me give it up for running because of too many injuries. Before I was a distance runner girl I played a lot of sports.

Q: After living in Tallahassee, what is your favorite part of the city?
A: We like to go to Harry’s a lot downtown; it gets us away from the student life. I think we go there too much though [laughs].

Q: Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
A: Well in 10 years I’ll be 34, hopefully not running, maybe. I’m not sure if I would stay here or go back to England, but right now I’m going to stay here while I’m running, for training. I’m not really sure about that far ahead.

Related Articles