December 2, 2013 - by
Pruitt Named a Finalist for the Broyles Award

Dec. 2, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State defensive coordinator Jeremy Pruitt was named one of five finalists for the 2013 Broyles Award on Monday.

The Broyles Award is given to the nation’s top assistant coach.

Joining Pruitt on the finalist list are Auburn offensive coordinator Rhett Lashlee, Baylor offensive coordinator Philip Montgomery, Duke offensive coordinator Kurt Roper and Michigan State defensive coordinator Pat Narduzzi.

Pruitt, in his first year with the No. 1-ranked Seminoles, has guided arguably the country’s top defense this season.

Despite losing seven defensive starters from a year ago, FSU leads the nation in scoring defense (11.0), pass defense (153.0), interceptions (23), rushing touchdowns allowed (four) and defensive touchdowns (eight).

The 2013 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, Dec. 10 at 11:30 a.m. at the Marriot Hotel in Little Rock, Ark. The Broyles Award is presented by The Rotary Club of Little Rock. The winner of the 2012 Broyles Award was Bob Diaco, Notre Dame.

Related Articles