February 27, 2005 - by
Rain Washes Away The 2005 NFCA Leadoff Classic Softball Tournament

Feb. 27, 2005

Columbus, GA –
The 21st-ranked FSU softball team went into the semifinals of the 2005 NFCA Leadoff Classic looking for revenge against No. 8 Michigan but mother nature haulted the FSU run. Rain has caused the 2005 NFCA Leadoff Classic to be canceled on championship Sunday so the Seminoles, fresh off a win over their first top 25 opponent and tournament MVP Jamie Southern, will have to wait until Wednesday to return to action.

Heavy rains in southwestern Georgia forced the cancellation of Sunday play at the tenth annual NFCA Leadoff Classic, and Oklahoma was declared the tournament champion by virtue of being the highest remaining seed in championship play.

The Sooners went 4-0 in tournament play, and were slated to face Georgia in an 11 a.m. game. The other semifinal featured Michigan and Florida State. The third-seeded Wolverines took runner-up honors after the Seminoles upset Fresno State on Saturday.

Alabama, the top seed in the Silver Bracket, claimed the bracket title after knocking off North Carolina on Saturday. No. 2-seed South Carolina took runner-up honors in the Silver bracket.

Lehigh won the Bronze bracket after defeating Texas State on Saturday. The Mountain Hawks edged out defending Leadoff Classic champion LSU.

This marks the third time that the Leadoff Classic has been shortened by inclement weather. Nebraska claimed the 2001 championship by being the highest remaining seed left in championship play and Massachusetts won the 2003 title.

Fresno State’s Jamie Southern, who won two games in the circle and hit five home runs in the tournament, was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

The all-tournament team included pitchers Brooke Mitchell (Louisiana-Lafayette), Kami Keiter (Oklahoma), Michelle Green (Georgia), catcher Heather Scaglione (Oklahoma), first baseman Sheena Lawrick (Nebraska), second baseman Tiffany Haas (Michigan), third baseman Ashley Godfrey (Georgia), shortstop Katie Pierce (Seton Hall), outfielders Katie Ayers (Creighton), Jessica Josker (South Carolina), Maria Damico (Southern Illinois) and at-large members Nicole Motycka (Michigan), Christina Clark (Fresno State) and Tatiana George (Florida State).

Related Articles