December 12, 2013 - by
Roberto Aguayo Named 2013 Lou Groza Award Winner

Dec. 12, 2013

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. — Florida State redshirt freshman Roberto Aguayo is the recipient of the 2013 Lou Groza Award, given to the nation’s best kicker.

Aguayo is the third FSU student-athlete to capture college football’s top award for kickers, joining former `Noles Sebastian Janikowski and Graham Gano.

After replacing star Dustin Hopkins as the No. 1 Seminoles this season, Aguayo went on to post one of the most prolific kicking seasons in history. Aguayo enters the VIZIO BCS National Championship against Auburn Jan. 6 with the chance to set the national record for extra points made (94) and points (152). 

He currently leads all kickers nationally with 147 points — a total that is both an FSU and Atlantic Coast Conference record.

In 13 games this season, Aguayo has outscored FSU opponents by himself 147-139. His 90-of-90 mark on extra points is an FBS all-time record. Aguayo is currently 19-of-20 on field goals with a long of 53.

Aguayo set the school record with 70 consecutive made kicks to start his career. He has also been named First-Team All-ACC selection by the ACC coaches, a second-team selection by ACC media, a first-team All-American by USA TODAY Sports, Walter Camp and and a first-team freshman All-American by College Football News.

Related Articles