January 9, 2007 - by
Rolle, Warren Named To The 2006 Scripps Freshman All-America Team

Jan. 9, 2007

The Football Writers Association of America announced its 2006 Scripps Freshman All-America Team late Monday and Florida State’s Myron Rolle and Brandon Warren were selected for their respective positions.


Rolle appeared in 12 games with 10 starts at roverHe was named a first team Freshman All-American and ACC Defensive Rookie of the Year by the Sporting News and ranked third on the team with 77 total tackles, including a team-high nine tackles in the win over UCLA in the 2006 Emerald Bowl.  Rolle was the only freshman to rank in the ACC’s top 20, for tackles per game, coming in at 16th with 6.4 tackles per game.


Warren earned Sporting News All-ACC Freshman team tight end honors. He started nine games and led all FSU tight ends in receptions. He averaged 10.8 yards per catch, caught 28 balls for 301 yards and had one touchdown.


2006 Scripps Freshman All-America Team

*QB – Colt McCoy, Texas, RFr., Tuscola, Texas
*RB – P.J. Hill, Wisconsin, RFr., East Elmhurst, N.Y.
RB – Damion Fletcher, S. Miss, TFr., Biloxi, Miss.
RB – Reggie Arnold, Arkansas State, RFr., Little Rock, Ark.
WR – Percy Harvin, Florida, TFr., Virginia Beach, Va.
WR -Ryan Wolfe, UNLV, TFr., Santa Clarita, Calif.
TE – Brandon Warren, Florida State, TFr., Alcoa, Tenn.
OL – Sam Young, Notre Dame, TFr., Coral Springs, Fla.
OL – Ciron Black, LSU, RFr., Tyler, Texas
OL – Andre Smith, Alabama, TFr., Birmingham, Ala.
OL- Eddie Adamski, Northern Illinois, RFr., Kildeer, Ill.
OL – Eben Britton, Arizona, RFr., Burbank, Calif.

DL – Eric Norwood, South Carolina, TFr., Acworth, Ga.
DL – Jeffrey Fitzgerald, Virginia, RFr., Richmond, Va.
DL – Corey Wootton, Northwestern, RFr., Rutherford, N.J.
DL – George Selvie, South Florida, RFr., Pensacola, Fla.
*LB – Prince Hall, Alabama, RFr., Moreno Valley, Calif.
LB – Joe Pawelek, Baylor, RFr., Spring Branch, Texas
LB – Gerald McRath, Southern Miss, RFr., Powder Springs, Ga.
DB – Quinton Andrews, West Virginia, RFr., Opa Locka, Fla.
DB – Trevard Lindley, Kentucky, RFr., Hiram, Ga.
DB – Alterraun Verner, UCLA, TFr., Carson, Calif.
DB – Myron Rolle, Florida State, TFr., Galloway, N.J.
DB – Andre Sexton, Oklahoma State, RFr., Houston, Texas

K – Brett Swenson, Michigan State, TFr., Pompano Beach, Fla.
P – Matthew DiLallo, Colorado, TFr. Wellington, Fla.
KR – David Harvey, Akron, RFr., Penn Hills, Pa.

First-year Coach of the Year: Chris Petersen, Boise State

* indicates unanimous selection

Related Articles