April 14, 2005 - by
Roneeka Hodges Invited To 2005 WNBA Draft

April 14, 2005

Florida State senior Roneeka Hodges, who participated in the WNBA camp last weekend, has been invited to attend the 2005 WNBA Draft, which will take place on Saturday, April 16 at 12:00 noon (ET). ESPN2 will televise the first round live from the NBA Entertainment Studios in Secaucus, N.J. There are three rounds and 39 picks overall. The Charlotte Sting are on the clock first.

Florida State women’s basketball has had three players drafted to the WNBA and one other former Seminole who played one year in the league.
Latavia Coleman was drafted in the third round of the 2000 draft by the Houston Comets and was traded to the Indiana Fever. In 2001, Brooke Wyckoff, who is currently with the Connecticut Sun, was a second round pick and 26th overall to the Orlando Miracle while Levys Torres was a third round pick and 37th overall to the Miami Sol. Former Seminole great Tia Paschal, who lettered at FSU from 1989-93 and played professionally overseas, also played one season with the Charlotte Sting.

Hodges was recently honored with the team’s Most Outstanding Offensive Player Award after averaging a team-high 19.2 points per game which ranked second in the ACC. A first team All-ACC selection, she scored in double figures in 30 of 32 games and set an FSU single game record with 39 points in the overtime win over No. 15 Maryland. Her 615 points in 2004-05 rank second only to all-time leading scorer Sue Galkantas for a single season.

The 2005 WNBA Draft order is as follows:


1 Charlotte Sting 2 Indiana Fever 3 Phoenix Mercury 4 San Antonio Silver Stars 5 Houston Comets 6 Washington Mystics 7 Detroit Shock 8 Connecticut Sun 9 Sacramento Monarchs 10 New York Liberty 11 Minnesota Lynx 12 Seattle Storm 13 Washington Mystics


14 San Antonio Silver Stars 15 Houston Comets 16 Indiana Fever 17 Minnesota Lynx 18 Phoenix Mercury 19 Washington Mystics 20 Detroit Shock 21 Connecticut Sun 22 Sacramento Monarchs 23 New York Liberty 24 Charlotte Sting 25 Seattle Storm 26 Los Angeles Sparks


27 San Antonio Silver Stars 28 Houston Comets 29 Indiana Fever 30 Sacramenton Monarchs 31 Phoenix Mercury 32 Washington Mystics 33 Detroit Shock 34 Connecticut Sun 35 Sacramento Monarchs 36 New York Liberty 37 Minnesota Lynx 38 Seattle Storm 39 Los Angeles Sparks

Related Articles