May 20, 2009 - by
Ryan McMahon Named To Rimington Trophy 2009 Spring Watch List

May 20, 2009

New York, N.Y.  – Florida State center Ryan McMahon was named to the 2009 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List on Wednesday. The redshirt junior is appearing on the list for the second consecutive season. The ten-year old trophy is presented to the nation’s top center by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only double winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman


            McMahon has started 26 consecutive games at center for FSU line coach Rick Trickett. The Savannah, GA native has ranked either first or second overall among offensive linemen in 12 games over the last two seasons and he has been in the top three overall 18 times in 26 games. Trickett graded him as the top run or pass blocker 12 times in the last two seasons and gave him either the first or second best grade 22 times.


            McMahon has been whistled for just three penalties in over 1,831 snaps in his career, he has 44 knockdowns and has allowed just five sacks in two seasons. McMahon showed massive improvement from his first season in 2007 when he missed 31 assignments by missing only 12 assignments in 872 snaps in 2008. He was the recipient of the second effort award following spring practice and named one of four Leadership Award winners for the offense this spring. He was also named the Iron Nole winner for the offense this spring.


            One of the most reliable centers in the ACC, McMahon was named an honorable mention All-ACC selection by ASCMA/AP in 2008. He won the Bob Crenshaw Award given to the Seminole with the biggest heart. Last year McMahon started all 13 games at center. In a blowout win over Western Carolina McMahon was replaced ending his streak of 994 consecutive offensive snaps. He was in on 872 plays in 2008, second-most among offensive linemen. He had a big second half of the season as he graded out at 81% or higher in six of the last seven games and at 85% or higher in four of those games. The rising junior received the highest overall grade on the team in three of the last seven games, starting with Virginia Tech, McMahon graded out first or second overall four times. He joined All-America candidate Rodney Hudson as the only offensive lineman to receive a top grade overall, a top run blocking grade and a top pass blocking grade in one game (Georgia Tech) and he was the only player in 2008 to receive a 100% grade of any sort from OL coach Rick Trickett when he received a 100% in pass blocking versus Virginia Tech. McMahon was the only offensive lineman to receive an overall grade over 90% when he graded out at 93% versus Georgia Tech, he posted back-to-back run grades of 97% and 90% against Georgia Tech and Clemson and had the top run or pass grade six times in the last seven games.

            Past recipients of the Rimington Trophy include Nebraska ‘s Dominic Raiola, Ohio State ‘s LeCharles Bentley, Miami ‘s Brett Romberg, Virginia Tech’s Jake Grove, co-winners Michigan ‘s David Baas and LSU’s Ben Wilkerson, Minnesota ‘s Greg Eslinger, West Virginia ‘s Dan Mozes, Arkansas ’ Jonathan Luigs, and Penn State’s A.Q. Shipley. Since its inception the Rimington Trophy Award has raised over $1.3 million for the award’s benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, which is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation that to date has raised over $73 milllion for CF Research. The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln , Nebraska , on January 16, 2009.


Related Articles