June 5, 2012 - by
Sand Volleyball on CBS Sports Network Wednesday

June 5, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida State sand volleyball team will be featured prominently in Wednesday night’s broadcast of the AVCA Collegiate Sand Volleyball National Championships at 9 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network.

Wednesday’s broadcast is the first hour of two installments. The second hour will be broadcast on CBSSN on June 13 at 10 p.m. ET.

CBS Sports Network can be found at channel 743 (393 HD) for Tallahassee Comcast cable subscribers and at channel 613 on DIRECTV and 158 on DISH Network.

A prominent part of this Wednesday night’s show will be the pairs championship semifinals match between Florida State’s Jace Pardon and Jekaterina Stepanova and Long Beach State’s Caitlin LeDoux and Tara Roenicke that originally took place on April 29 in Gulf Shores, Ala.

A camera crew from CBSSN was on hand for the duration of the championship weekend, and the televised specials will feature match footage, as well as exclusive player interviews, expert analysis, and sideline reporting. These special broadcasts will pull you into the spirit of the inaugural collegiate sand volleyball championships by showcasing the players, coaches and beautiful setting in Gulf Shores that combined to make the event such a remarkable success.

The championship event spanned three days and featured top competitors from programs that participated in the first season of collegiate sand volleyball. The Pairs Championship featured the top 16 doubles teams competing over the course of two days. The Team Championship was a four-team double elimination slugfest that kept the crowd entertained with five matches played simultaneously.

Pepperdine, Long Beach State University, Florida State University, the College of Charleston, the University of Southern California, the University of Hawai’i, Florida Atlantic University, UAB, the University of North Florida and Stetson University all had participants in the competition.

The Seminoles finished third in the team competition, and had three athletes capture All-America honors: junior Aurora Newgard, sophomore Brittany Tiegs and Stepanova.

For a full programming schedule and how to get CBS Sports Network, go to www.cbssportsnetwork.com.

For more information on the Florida State sand volleyball team follow the Seminoles on Twitter at @FSU_SVB.


Related Articles