December 2, 2008 - by
Sanna Talonen Named Semifinalist For MAC Hermann Trophy

Dec. 2, 2008

KANSAS CITY, Kan. – Florida State’s Sanna Talonen was named a semifinalist for the Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy as announced by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) on Friday, November 28. The sophomore forward is one of 15 student-athletes selected as a semifinalist including one of five from the ACC to lead all conferences. The MAC Hermann Trophy is presented to the nation’s top collegiate player on both the women’s and men’s side.

A year ago, Mami Yamaguchi became the first Seminole player to claim the top individual honor in women’s soccer. She was named the winner of the Hermann Trophy after leading the country in points (66), while finishing second in goals (24) and assists (18). Yamaguchi was a big part of Florida State’s run to the 2007 National Championship game.

Talonen had a stellar sophomore season as she finished the year as the team leader in points (36), goals (16) and game-winning goals (6) en route to earning first team All-ACC accolades. She currently sits in the top 10 in the ACC in points per game, goals per game and game-winning goals, while ranking among the nations best in goals per game and points per game.

On the career charts, Talonen is first all-time at Florida State in game-winning goals (12) and multi-goal games (9), while ranking second in goals (34) and third in points (78). She set the single-season record for points and goals in ACC play with 19 and nine, respectively. In just two seasons at FSU, the Tampere, Finland, native became the all-time leader in points (22) and goals (10) in NCAA Tournament competition.

At one point during the year, Talonen registered a goal in six straight games. She has wrecked havoc away from home in just two seasons notching 32 career points on the road. Eleven of her 16 goals in 2008 came away from home.

Talonen becomes the ninth Seminole in five years to be in the running of this prestigious award. She joins a growing list of other Seminole greats including Leah Gallegos (2004), Kelly Rowland (2005), Selin Kuralay (2006), India Trotter (2006), Sarah Wagenfuhr (2007), Mami Yamaguchi (2007), Amanda DaCosta (2008) and Becky Edwards (2008). The sophomore forward joins Yamaguchi, Kuralay and Trotter as the fourth Seminole to be named a semifinalist for the Hermann Trophy.

The list will be narrowed down to three finalists on Friday, December 12. The three remaining student-athletes will be invited to attend a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, January 9, 2009. The winners of the men’s and women’s awards will be announced at that dinner.

Related Articles