May 4, 2009 - by
Savage And Kittleson Earn All-ACC Men’s Golf Honors; Koepka Named ACC Freshman Of The Year

May 4, 2009

Florida State senior Matt Savage and sophomore Drew Kittleson were named to the All-ACC men’s golf team and Brooks Koepka was named the ACC Freshman of the Year in a vote by the leagues 11 head coaches. Savage becomes the first Seminole player to earn All-ACC honors three times and Koepka is the first Seminole to be named as the ACC men’s golf freshman of the year. It’s the first time on the All-ACC team for Kittleson who played the Master’s Championship in April and who will play in the US Open in June.

“I am very proud of Matt, Drew and Brooks,” said head coach Trey Jones. “It says a lot about how far Brooks has come as a golfer for him to be recognized as the ACC Freshman of the Year. To be named the top freshman in the top league in the country should show him that he can compete with any play in the country. It’s a great honor for Matt and show how much he really means to the program. He’s been as consistent a player as we’ve had here in some time. And for Drew It’s obvious how much of a better player he is this year as compared to last season. We want all of our players to develop like Drew has in the last year.”

Savage, who has earned three top-10 finishes this spring, has now earned All-ACC honors as a sophomore, junior and senior. He is one of only three players in school history to earn All-ACC honors multiple times (Christian Raynor in 1994 and 1995 and Jonas Blixt and 2007 and 2008) and helped Florida State finish as one of only three teams in the league to finish with multiple players to earn All-ACC honors this season.

Savage has 12 wins over the top 12 ranked players ACC and won more than one-third of his head-to-head match-ups with the top-100 players in the nation. He finished in first in the Florida State Spring Break Invitational as he set the school record with a single-round score of 63 and finished in a tie for sixth place in the Seminole Intercollegiate.

Kittleson has earned six top 15 finishes and leads the Seminoles with a career-low 72.28 stroke average this year. He leads the team with 22 rounds with scores of 75 or better and has earned eight rounds with scores at par or better. Kittleson finished in a team-best tied for sixth place finish at the Seminole Intercollegiate in March.

Kittleson is the sixth highest individually ranked player in ACC and played the most 19th toughest schedule of any player in the ACC during the spring season. He finished a total of +8 strokes over par in six events during the spring season and won nearly half of his individual contests against the top-100 players in the nation (67 of 137)

Koepka is Florida State’s second ranked golfer with a 73.00 stroke average and is the only freshman in the league with multiple top five individual finishes. He finished in second place at the Florida State Spring Break Invitational and in a tie for second place in the stroke play competition at the Callaway Match Play Championship. His second place finishes are the best individual placings among all of the freshmen in the ACC.

Koepka is only the second player in school history to earn an individual ACC men’s golf honor. Bobby Cochran was named the ACC Player of the Year in 1994. Jones was named the ACC Coach of the Year in 2008 after leading the Seminoles to the first ACC golf championship in school history.

“We expect Drew and Brooks to compete for ACC Player of the Year honors next season,” said Jones.

2009 All-ACC Men's Golf Team
Name                  School
Matt Savage           Florida State
Drew Kittleson        Florida State
Kyle Stanley          Clemson
Ben Martin            Clemson
David May             Clemson
Cameron Tringale      Georgia Tech
John Popeck           Maryland
Kevin O'Connell       North Carolina
Matt Hill             NC State
Darren Blair          NC State
Drew Weaver           Virginia Tech
Dustin Groves         Wake Forest

ACC Player of the Year
Matt Hill             NC State

ACC Freshman of the Year
Brooks Koepka         Florida State

ACC Coach of the Year
Bruce Heppler         Georgia Tech

Related Articles