February 17, 2000 - by
Schembechler, Hornung, Bowden Headline KeyBank Gridiron Legends Luncheon Series

Feb. 17, 2000

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Two College Football Hall of Famers and a future Hall of Famer come to
South Bend this spring for the KeyBank Gridiron Legends Luncheon Series
presented by the College Football Hall of Fame, it was announced Wednesday
by the world-class museum in South Bend, Ind.

In its fourth season, the series brings some of the biggest names in
college football to the Hall of Fame to speak about their experiences. In
addition to KeyBank’s role as a title sponsor, WSBT-TV will be this year’s
media sponsor.

“KeyBank and WSBT are critical to the success of our Series,” Hall of
Fame Executive Director Bernie Kish said. “We are fortunate to have the
support of such prominent institutions in the community.”
Former Michigan coach Glenn E. “Bo” Schembechler, former Notre Dame Heisman
Trophy winner Paul Hornung and Florida State coach Bobby Bowden will be the
keynote speakers in March, April and June respectively. A fourth speaker is
expected to be announced in the near future. All luncheons begin at 11:30
a.m. EST and take place in the Hall of Fame’s Press Box.

Individual tickets are $20 per luncheon while tables of eight can be
purchased for $150. Tickets for the entire series are $70 per person.
Tables, individual and series tickets can be purchased by calling Courtney
Mattison at 219-235-5715.

“We are very pleased to present another quality series,” Kish added.
“The personalities we have been able to bring to South Bend will provide
everyone with a very entertaining program.”

Schembechler, winner of 13 Big Ten titles in 21 years at the University
of Michigan, leads off the KeyBank Gridiron Legends Luncheon Series on
Thursday, March 23. Under Schembechler’s guidance, the Wolverines appeared
in 17 bowl games, including 10 Rose Bowls. In his 27 years of coaching, his
teams never had a losing season. Four years after his retirement in 1989,
Schembechler was in enshrined into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Hornung, the 1956 Heisman Trophy winner, will speak at the Thursday,
April 20. An outstanding all-around athlete who played quarterback, left
halfback, fullback and safety, Hornung remains the only player from a losing
team ever to win the Heisman Trophy. Hornung was enshrined in the College
Football Hall of Fame in 1985.

Bobby Bowden, who won his second national title in 1999 by beating
Virginia Tech in the Nokia Sugar Bowl, will speak Wednesday, June 28.
Bowden is the only coach in the history of Division I-A football to compile
13 straight 10-win seasons (1987-present) and holds NCAA records for
consecutive bowl appearances without a loss (14) and consecutive bowl
victories (11). Bowden, the second-winningest active coach, recently
reached the 300-win plateau on Oct. 23 by defeating son Tommy’s Clemson
Tigers. That game featured the first Division I-A game in which a father
faced a son as head coaches.

Related Articles