January 15, 2004 - by
Select Florida State Baseball Games To Air On WGWD 93.3 FM
This year, fans of Florida State baseball in the Big Bend will be able to hear as many as 20 games on the FM band. The flagship station for the baseball broadcasts, WFLA-AM 1270 and FSU radio broadcast rights holder Host Communications have reached an agreement with WGWD-FM 93.3 to air a selected schedule of FSU night games.


This will be the 23rd consecutive season that every FSU baseball game will air on WFLA. But because the AM station must adjust its signal strength after sundown due to federal regulations, it has been difficult for some fans living on the outskirts of Tallahassee to listen to the nighttime game broadcasts. WGWD’s coverage area is expected to pick up where WFLA’s signal leaves off to provide coverage to listeners in the area.


The 2004 WGWD schedule (subject to change), includes 18 games:

 1. Fri, Feb 6 at Arizona State University, 7:45pm
2. Fri, Mar 26 at North Carolina, 5:45pm*
3. Wed, Mar 31 at University of Florida, 6:15pm
4. Fri, Apr 2 vs. North Carolina State, 6:45pm
5. Sat, Apr 3 vs. North Carolina State, 6:45pm*
6. Fri, Apr 9 vs. University of Miami, 6:45pm
7. Sat, Apr 10 vs. University of Miami, 6:45pm
8. Fri, Apr 16 at University of Miami, 6:45pm
9. Sat, Apr 17 at University of Miami, 6:45pm
10. Wed, Apr 21 vs. University of Florida, 6:45pm
11. Fri, Apr 23 vs. Georgia Tech, 6:45pm
12. Sat, Apr 24 vs. Georgia Tech, 6:45pm
13. Sat, May 1 at Clemson, 6:45pm
14. Fri, May 7 at University of Virginia, 6:45pm
15. Sat, May 8 at University of Virginia, 6:45pm
16. Wed, May 12 at University of Florida, 6:15pm
17. Fri, May 14 at Duke University, 6:45pm
18. Sat, May 15 at Duke University, 6:45pm


*Denotes broadcast is tentative
All Times Eastern
Additional coverage may be added in the post-season

Related Articles