April 1, 2009 - by
Seminole Basketball Banquet To Be Held April 9

April 1, 2009

The NCAA Tournament participant and ACC Tournament finalist Florida State basketball team will be honored at the Seminoles’ annual honors banquet April 9 at 6:00 p.m. at the Tom and Ginny Futch Ballroom at the University Center Club on the Florida State campus.

National Coach of the Year Leonard Hamilton and his staff will honor seniors Toney Douglas, Uche Echefu and Brian Hoff for their contributions to the program, their desire to be leaders and for their ability to return the program to the national status that the Seminole program has enjoyed over its illustrious history.

Florida State finished the 2008-09 season with a 25-10 record, was a No. 5 seed in the NCAA Tournament, finished in fourth place in the ACC standings with a 10-6 record, played in the ACC Tournament championship game for the first time in school history and had an All-ACC First Team pick (Douglas) for the second time in three seasons. The Seminoles’ 25 wins is tied for second most in school history while their 10 conference wins is the third highest in school history. It marked the first time since the 1992-93 season that the Seminoles had won at least 10 ACC games in a single season.

With Douglas, Ecehfu and Hoff in the line-up during the last four years the Seminoles won an average of 21.5 games per season, defeated two No. 1 ranked teams, defeated nine ranked teams and ranked as the fourth winning ACC program.

Reservations for the banquet can be made by calling the Florida State basketball office at (850) 644-1461 or by emailing fsumensbballbanquet@yahoo.com. A social hour begins at 6:00 p.m. with the dinner and awards ceremony beginning at 7:00 p.m.

Related Articles