April 13, 2005 - by
Seminole Swimming Team Earns ACC Sportsmanship Award

April 13, 2005

The Atlantic Coast Conference announced the recipients of seven sportsmanship awards for the winter season on Wednesday. Teams that received the award conducted themselves with a high degree of character and good sportsmanship, as determined by a vote of the league’s teams. Seven schools – Clemson, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Maryland, North Carolina, NC State and Wake Forest – were recognized.

The conference presents sportsmanship awards for each of its 25 sponsored sports. The concept of these awards was created by the ACC Student Athlete Advisory Committee in an effort to recognize teams that earned the utmost regard from their peers during competition. As is stated in the conference’s Mission Statement, “It [the ACC] strongly adheres to the principles of integrity and sportsmanship, and supports the total development of the student-athlete and each member institution’s athletics department staff, with the intent of producing enlightened leadership for tomorrow.”

Recipients of the awards are as follows:
Sport Recipient

Men’s Basketball Clemson
Women’s Basketball NC State
Men’s Swimming and Diving Florida State
Women’s Swimming and Diving North Carolina
Men’s Indoor Track and Field Wake Forest
Women’s Indoor Track and Field Georgia Tech
Wrestling Maryland
Related Articles