June 21, 1999 - by
Seminoles Announce Spring Football Award Winners
April 4, 1998

Florida State head coach Bobby Bowden announced Saturday the winners of the special awards for spring football. Junior noseguard Larry Smith took top honors with his selection as the Hinesman Award Winner which designates the most dominate player of spring. Smith was also selected the Most Outstanding Player among the FSU defenders, while junior wide receiver Peter Warrick earned the honor on the offensive side of the football.

The entire list of award winners follows:

1998 Spring Football Award Winners

Position            Most Improved       Most Dependable

Quarterback Marcus Outzen Chris Weinke/ Dan Kendra

Receiver Ron Dugans Peter Warrick

Offensive Line Eric Thomas Jarad Moon

Running Backs Jeff Chaney Lamarr Glenn

Tight Ends Nick Franklin Myron Jackson

Linebackers Deon Humphrey/ Tommy Polley Bradley Jennings

Defensive Backs Derrick Gibson/ Dexter Jackson Clevan Thomas

Defensive Line Jamal Reynolds Roland Seymour

King of the Boards Jerry Johnson Lamarr Glenn

Offensive Awards

Leadership - Dan Kendra / Chris Weinke Most Outstanding Player - Peter Warrick Big Otis Award - Peter Warrick Second Effort Award - Otis Duhart Tom Newcomer - Char-ron Dorsey Big Hitter - Nick Franklin

Defensive Awards

Leadership - Lamont Green Most Outstanding Player - Larry Smith Big Otis Award - Jerry Johnson Second Effort Award - Bobby Rhodes / Jamal Reynolds Tom Newcomer - Reggie Durden Big Hitter - Bradley Jennings

Most Dominate Player (Hinesman Award) -- Larry Smith

Related Articles