June 10, 2007 - by
Seminoles’ Blixt And Westrup Named Academic All-Americans

June 10, 2007

Florida State University golfers Jonas Blixt and Caroline Westrup, who both earned All-America honors for their success on the golf course, have earned ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District Second-Team honors for their success in the class room. Blixt and Westrup were named to the District 3 University Division teams in voting by the members of the College Sports Information Directors of America.

Blixt, who owns a 3.25 grade point average in multinational business, has been a member of the Florida State Director of Athletics Academic Honor Roll in each of his three seasons at Florida State. He earned Dean’s List Honors during the spring of 2005 and was named to the All-ACC Academic Golf Team in 2006. In addition, he was named to the 2006 Cleveland Golf national All-America Scholar Team.

Blixt earned All-America Second-Team honors in leading the Seminoles to a tied for 13th place finish in the 2007 NCAA Championship finals this season. The finish was the highest for the Seminoles since they finished seventh in 1995. Blixt also became the first Seminole golfer in school history to win the individual title at the ACC Championship in 2007.

Westrup, who holds a 3.650 grade point average in sport management, has earned Florida State University President’s List honors twice during her first four semesters (4.0 GPA during the spring of 2006 and the spring of 2007). She was named to the All-ACC Academic Golf Team in 2006 and has been a member of the FSU Director of Athletics Academic Honor Roll during both of her first two years as a Seminole.

Westrup earned All-America First-Team honors after finishing tied for 11th at the 2007 NCAA Division I Championship finals. She earned two individual victories and finished the season with a career-low 72.60 stroke average. After winning the individual world championship at the Women’s World Amateur Championship in 2007, Westrup ranked as the No. 1 collegiate player during the entire fall of 2006 and the beginning of the spring 2007 season.

Related Articles