April 19, 2008 - by
Seminoles’ Blixt Named Semifinalist For Ben Hogan Award

April 19, 2008

Florida State senior Jonas Blixt, who is looking to win his second consecutive ACC individual championship this weekend, has been named as a semifinalist for the Ben Hogan Award as presented by the Chesapeake Energy Corporation in association with the Golf Coaches Association of America. Considered to be the most prestigious award in men’s college golf, the Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men’s golfer in NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions in the last 12 months.

The Hogan Award finalists will be announced on May 7 and invited to the Colonial Country Club in Ft. Worth, Tex, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 18. The 1964 U.S. Open winner and former CBS golf analyst Ken Venturi will be the keynote speaker.

Blixt and the Seminoles are currently competing in the Atlantic Coast Conference Championship at the Old North State Club at Uwharrie Point in New London, N.C. The Seminoles were in a tie for first place in the team standings and Blixt was in a tie for fifth in the individual standings after the first round. The second round of the tournament will be played on Saturday with the final round scheduled for Sunday.

Blixt was an All-America Second-Team selection and All-ACC selection as a junior and is well on his way to becoming a two-time All-America this season. He entered the ACC Championship averaging a career-low 71.70 strokes per round. Blixt has six top-10 individual finishes in nine events this season and earned medalist honors at the fall 2007 Inverness Intercollegiate. He finished in third place at the River Landing Intercollegiate during the spring season, fourth at the Fighting Illini Invitational and in fifth at the PING / GolfWeek Preview during the fall season.

2008 The Ben Hogan Semifinalists
(in alphabetical order)
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Jonas Enander Hedin, Charlotte
Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Rory Hie, Southern California
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Joel Sjoholm, Georgia State
Michael Thompson, Alabama

Related Articles