March 7, 2010 - by
Seminoles Earn No. 3 Seed

March 7, 2010

ACC Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

The Florida State basketball team finished in third place in the ACC standings with a 10-6 record in league play and has earned a bye through the first round of the 57th Annual ACC Tournament. The Seminoles will face the winner of Thursday’s first round game between No. 6 seeded Clemson and No. 11 seeded NC State at approximately 9:00 p.m. on Friday night in the quarterfinal round of the tournament.

The ACC Tournament begins March 11 and runs through March 14 at the Greensboro Coliseum in Greensboro, N.C.

Florida State has now earned a first round bye in the ACC Tournament for the second consecutive season. The Seminoles finished in fourth place in the league standings, received a bye and advanced to the ACC Tournament championship game for the first time in school history in 2009.

The Seminoles concluded the regular season with a victory over Miami on Saturday and enters post season play with a 22-8 record. It marks the second consecutive season Florida State has won at least 22 regular season games (it won 23 a year ago) and the second consecutive season it has won at least 10 ACC games.

“I am very proud of our players and our coaching staff for being successful in one of the nation’s top conferences,” said head coach Leonard Hamilton. “Finishing in third place in the ACC is a credit to our team and shows that we have continued to move our program in a positive direction. This is a very exciting time of the year and we have to continue to prepare for our next game on Friday night just like we have prepared for our first 30 games of the season – with concentration, hard work and a passion for the game.”

Florida State’s 10-6 record earned it a third place finish in the league standings – its highest since finishing in second place during the 1992 and 1993 seasons. It also marks the first time since the 1992 and 1993 seasons that the Seminoles have won at least 10 league games in consecutive years.

Florida State is the first team (besides Duke or North Carolina) to win at least 10 ACC games in consecutive seasons since Boston College during the 2006 and 2007 seasons. Only Florida State (twice), Wake Forest (twice), Maryland (three times) and Boston College (once) have won at least 10 conference games in consecutive seasons (besides the Blue Devils and the Tar Heels) since the Seminoles joined the league for the 1992 season and the schedule expanded to 16 games. Boston College and Miami became the league’s 11th and 12th members for the 2005 season.

Related Articles