June 21, 1999 - by
Seminoles Football Standouts Named to All-ACC Academic Team

February 26, 1999

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Four Florida State football players have been
named to the All-ACC academic team as announced by Commissioner John
Swofford. Quarterback Chris Weinke (3.56, sports management), offensive
guard Jason Whitaker (3.06, political science), defensive back Chris Hope
(3.69, undergraduate studies) and punter Keith Cottrell (3.33, sports
management) were selected based on their grade point averages and athletic
accomplishments. To be eligible, a player must have earned a 3.0 GPA for
the fall semester or have maintained a 3.0 cumulative average during his
academic career.

As a sophomore, Weinke threw for 2,487 yards and a league-leading
19 touchdowns in 10 games of action. Weinke set FSU records for 200-yard
passing games (nine) and yards per completion (17.2). He will enter the
1999 season with a streak of 218 pass attempts without an interception.

Whitaker anchored a young Seminole offensive line as a junior and
went on to earn first-team All-America honors from the Football Writers of
America. A three-time offensive lineman of the week, Whitaker was also a
first-team All-ACC selection.

A true freshman, Hope recorded the second-highest GPA (3.69) on the
All-ACC academic team in his first semester at Florida State. He was a key
contributor on special teams and in the secondary, earning freshman
honorable mention recognition from the Sporting News.

Cottrell finished his sophomore campaign with a 41.3 average per
punt in his second season as the starter. He improved his average by
almost three yards in his second year.

Related Articles