April 9, 2008 - by
Seminoles’ Golfer Blixt Named To Nicklaus Award Watch List

April 9, 2008

Two-time Florida State University All-America golfer Jonas Blixt is one of 20 men’s golfers who has been named to the Jack Nicklaus Award Watch list as the nation’s top Division I golfer by the Golf Coaches’ Association of America. Blixt was also placed on the Ben Hogan Award Watch list earlier this season.

Blixt, who leads the Seminoles with a career-low 71.88 stroke average during the fall 2007 and spring 2008 seasons, is ranked seventh nationally in the individual rankings of Division I men’s players by GolfWeek Magazine. He has led the Seminoles this spring to one first place team finish (Seminole Intercollegiate), two second place finishes (Gator Invitational General Jim Hacker Invitational) and a fifth place finish (U.S. Collegiate). The Seminoles won their first event of the year during the fall season (Inverness Intercollegiate) and have won two events in the same year for the first time since the fall 1994 and spring 1995 seasons. The last time the Seminoles won three or more events in the same year was in 1994-95.

Blixt, the defending ACC individual champion, will set out to defend the title he won last season at next week’s ACC Championship at the old North State Club in New London, N.C. He enters the tournament playing to become the first Seminole to win the event twice and the first player since the 1997 and 1998 seasons when Charles Warren of Clemson earned ACC medalist honors in consecutive seasons.

The Nicklaus Award is presented to the Player of the Year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as the NAIA. The recipients will be named immediately following the final round of each respective national championship. All four Nicklaus Award honorees will be invited to Muirfield Village for the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Morgan Stanley at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, just outside Nicklaus’ hometown of Columbus to receive their trophies from Mr. Nicklaus. Additionally, a 20-player All-Nicklaus Team – which will include outstanding players from NCAA Divisions I, II and III and the NAIA – will be named June 10.

2008 Jack Nicklaus Award Watch Lists/NCAA Division I
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Jonas Enander Hedin, Charlotte
Derek Fathauer, Louisville
Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
Aaron Goldberg, San Diego State
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Rory Hie, Southern California
Russell Henley, Georgia
Siwhan Kim, Stanford
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Adam Mitchell, Georgia
Kevin O'Connell, North Carolina
Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Joel Sjoholm, Georgia State
Ryan Spears, Wichita State
Hudson Swafford, Georgia
Matthew Swann, Alabama
Michael Thompson, Alabama
(golfers are listed in alphabetical order)

Related Articles